Skip to main content

Urban Studies

Newspapers, Magazines, Journals

Proquest All Subscribed Contents
A "shopping mall" of newspaper, magazine and journal articles in all subject areas
Use it to get an overview on your subject or familiarize yourself with issues to learn about a new subject;  find current events, interviews, commentary, etc.
 
►Use the power of this database by Limiting Dates, Document Type (e.g. interviews, reviews), and using the fields in the Search section (Citation and Abstract vs. Citation and Document Text)
 
Narrow your Results list by using the menu on the right to choose Scholarly Journals, a Subject area or to select a Publication Date range 

►This is a good starting place for most topics “to see what’s out there.” It's also a great database for news, popular views, interviews

Scholarly Articles: Project Muse & JStor


Project Muse and JStor  provide "boutique" access to:
  • Full Text of selected Academic Journal Articles
  • Articles in most fields of the humanities and social sciences
  • Project Muse covers the most current five to ten years (this varies by journal title, check under Browse Journals for exact dates)
  • JStor covers past years mainly, mostly up to 1-4 years ago

 

Major Urban Studies Databases

More databases for Urban Studies, including demographical resources, are listed on the Urban Studies & Planning Databases page

Neighborhood Newspapers

New York City boasts a good number of local neighborhood newspapers. Use them to see what some local issues and events are and to learn more about local players, such as community organizations, politicians and businesses.

Here a selection - check your locality for those plastic newspapers boxes on the curb. Or google "upper west side newspaper" etc.

 •Many of these sites include searchable Archives

 

amNewYork

Daily, in print and online - coverage includes politics and policies, business and neighborhood news

 

Gotham Gazette: "The Place for New York Policies and Politics" (online only) City-wide coverage

El Diario La Prensa Spanish language newspaper with city-wide coverage

The Villager covers West & East Village, Chelsea, SOHO, NOHO, Little Italy, Union Square

Downtown Express covers Tribeca, Wall Street, Lower East Side; includes Community Guide

Chelsea Now Chelsea, including the Highline and Hudson waterfront

East Villager & Lower East Sider

Gay City News  local news covering the West Village, Chelsea and the Meat Packing District

New York Press has an Upper West Side, Upper Eaast Side and Downtown section (under Neighborhoods)

New York Amsterdam News one of the oldest African American newspapers - covers local news from an ethnic perspective

 

Archival only:

DNAinfo.com (online only) has sections for neighborhood news from all five boroughs; current news coverage stopped in 2017