- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Search the 'Books & More' tab on the library website using keywords in the title, author, or subject, or the ISBN.
Ebooks can be accessed through links under the 'Online Access' section of the page.
Physical books are arranged using Library of Congress classification. The New School students can borrow or request materials to pick up at any of our locations:
View Access and Borrowing info and renew books (My Account) on the library website. Most books can be borrowed for 16 weeks and renewed twice.
Use Consortium Libraries (NYU, Cooper Union, New York School of Interior Design) with your New School ID card.
Three ways to find related books:
Login to the library catalog to see more access options:
METRO: Resource-sharing service for New York City area libraries. Onsite access only (no borrowing privileges).
WorldCat: Search WorldCat, a union catalog of library holdings around the world.
Request a Purchase of any books that you need for your research.
The New School subscribes to several E-book Databases. Full-text searching is possible when searching within individual ebook databases.
Google Books can be used as a tool to search inside books. Locate books using our library catalog.
Interior Design books are located in the call number areas of NA (Architecture), NK (Decorative Arts), TA (Engineering), TH (Building Construction & Handicrafts) and TS (Manufactures) at the University Center Library, 63 Fifth Avenue.
All degree-seeking students have access to the library at the New York School of Interior Design (NYSID), a comprehensive library for interior design, which also uses the Library of Congress classification scheme.
| Architecture | NA |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Engineering | TA |
| Building Construction & Handicrafts | TH |
| Manufactures | TS |
| Decorative Arts and Interior Design | NK |
| Antiques and Decorative Arts | NK 460-1380, NK 2800-9700 |
| Arts and Crafts | NK 1140-1142 |
| Careers | NK 2116 |
| Color | NK 2115, 1548 |
| Commercial / Restaurants / Shops | NK 2195 |
| Design History / Patterns / Theory | NK 1160-1700 |
| Furniture | NK 2205-2770 |
| History | NK 1710 |
| Interior Design and Designers (American) | NK 2002-2004 |
| Interior Design and Designers (European) | NK 2042-2062 |
| Interior Design and Designers (Asian/African/Oceanic) | NK 2078-2110 |
| Lighting | NK 2115.5 |
| Residential | NK 2110 |
| Rooms | NK 2117 |
| Engineering | TA |
| Human Factors / Ergonomics | TA 166 |
| Materials | TA 402-4036 |
| Building Construction | TH |
| Graphic Standards | TH 2025-4311 |
| Green/Sustainable Materials | TH 455-880 |
| Handicrafts | TT |
| Furniture | TT 180-200 |
| Soft Home Furnishings | TT 387-410 |
| Manufactures | TS |
| Product Design | TS 23-19 |
Interior decoration -- history
Interior architecture -- history
-- country name
-- 20th century
Design movement, style: Memphis
Designer name: Ettore Sottsass
Building types: Hotels
Interior Design Reference Manual: Everything You Need to Know to Pass the NCIDQ® Exam (6th ed.) by 
Designing Your Business by
Designing Your Business, 2nd Edition, transforms aspiring interior designers into savvy business people as well as creative interior designers by offering strategies for working effectively with colleagues, clients, and resources. The text explores business organization, legal and ethical issues, and business finance and accounting practices common to the profession. The practical approach and engaging interactive pedagogy make it easy and interesting to learn the intricacies of the business, law, and practice.
The Interior Design Business Handbook: A Complete Guide to Profitability by 
Professional Practice for Interior Designers (5th ed.) by 
Designing with Color by
This textbook/workbook trains students' eyes to develop a visual understanding of color and the principles of design through guided observation and engaging activities. Lavishly illustrated with full-color graphics and photos, the book demonstrates how color and other design elements are combined in nature and the visual arts. Part One presents color, the most immediately noticeable element of design. Part Two integrates color with the other design elements and shows how they interact according to the principles of design. Students can apply their learning by completing a series of activities and record their work with photos for future reference.
Environmental Psychology for Design by
Environmental Psychology for Design, Third Edition, shows how rooms and buildings can affect an occupant's behavior and health by explaining psychosocial responses. Recipient of the American Society of Interior Designers Joel Polsky Prize, the book introduces you to the discipline of environmental psychology and encourages you to embrace its key concepts and use them in your practice. This new edition adds information about aging and vulnerable populations and has updated resources and research.Features-Cultural Connection and Sustainability Connection box features highlight the great diversity in the application of the subject ideas and concepts-Point of Views (POVs) highlight different professional opinions and practice beliefs to show that many esteemed scholars can hold differing or complementary views-All new Learning Objectives outline what you will learn in each chapterNew to this Edition-New and updated examples, including neurobiological development and decline, basic understanding of the nervous system, and discussion of hypotheses and theories with an emphasis on the biophillia hypothesis-Increased emphasis on evidence-based design methods-New organization integrates ideas into concept-driven chaptersEnvironmental Psychology for Design STUDIO-Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips-Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions
Rethinking Design and Interiors by
The world is increasingly and rapidly being affected by environmental and technological changes. It is imperative that the design profession address these developments with a new way of thinking. This book points the way for the design of interiors in this newly complex world and will be indispensable for students, practitioners, and theoreticians.The book is divided into four chapters that explore aspects of the human experience of the interior, from manOCOs earliest search for shelter to an outline of past and current thinking on design, psychology and well-being. An epilog looks at such future concerns as population growth and sustainability and suggests how the design profession can confront these challenges.Rethinking Design and Interiors is a fascinating exploration of how art and science can come together for the benefit of those who inhabit the built environment.
Shaping Interior Space by
Shaping Interior Space, 4th Edition, emphasizes the experiential contributions of interior design. Intended for all design students, the author covers strategies for creating interior environments that work as a total system to enhance the experience of the user. The book is organized into three parts, a background part introduces ways of designing for experience and reviews design principles and strategies. Part Two focuses on the three experiential goals that form the backbone of the book, order, enrichment, and expression. These serve as overall umbrellas that capture the many dimensions of users' experiences in the built environment. Part Three is devoted to design process. The process is broken up into understanding, ideation, and development and covers many tasks performed during the early and intermediate stages of design. Shaping Interior Space STUDIO--an online tool for more effective study! · Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips · Review concepts with flashcards of essential vocabulary This bundle includes Shaping Interior Space, 4th Edition and Shaping Interior Space STUDIO Access Card.
Spatial Strategies for Interior Design by
This book explores the ways in which the organization of interior space can be developed from the initial concept through to the planning of a project. The straightforward text explains strategies, processes, and methods that can be employed to transform an initial brief into an interior that provides an appropriate response to the project's demands. This is backed up with a wealth of visual material including photographs and specially created diagrams and models. Case studies and step-by-step exercises further illustrate the application of the principles and approaches introduced in the text. This is an invaluable practical and inspirational guide to a subject that all students of spatial design must master.
Architectural Drafting for Interior Design by
While traditional drafting books focus on architectural and engineering readers, the thoroughly updated and revised Architectural Drafting for Interior Design, Third Edition, incorporates material and examples that are meaningful to today's interior designers. Beginning interior designers need to learn how to communicate their ideas graphically with a resource that is designed specifically for them. This book addresses this specific need by focusing on topics needed before AutoCAD is even introduced, such as how to draw a floor plan, how to use it to create an interior elevation, and how to understand the relationship between 2D and 3D drawings. Then each aspect will be transferred from the initial hand drawing to a digital rendering for completion. The only book that is written to the standards of the National Council for Interior Design Qualifications (NCIDQ) and interior design trade associations like the National Kitchen and Bath Association (NKBA), this will provide readers with a strong, standards-based foundation in interior design. New to this Edition: - First edition to include comprehensive student-facing STUDIO and Instructor's Resources ancillary materials. - All new chapter exercises, class projects, and suggested activities. - Inclusion of Selected Answers to student projects at the back of the book. STUDIO Features: -Self-Assessment Quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips. -Review key concepts with Flashcards of essential vocabulary. -Downloadable PDFs of worksheets for easy-to-use access for projects. Instructor Resources: -PowerPoint Slides for each chapter. -Instructor's Guide with sample course outlines for teaching and tools for integrating the STUDIO with the course. -Image Bank for visual aid in a teaching enviornment. -Selected Answers Guide providing step-by-step solutions to additional projects and in-class exercises.
Construction Drawings and Details for Interiors by
A complete guide to preparing construction documentation from a design perspective Construction Drawings and Details for Interiors has become a must-have guide for students of interior design. It covers the essentials of traditional and computer-aided drafting with a uniquely design-oriented perspective. No other text provides this kind of attention to detail. Inside, you'll find specialty drawings, a sensitivity to aesthetic concerns, and real-world guidance from leaders in the field of interior design. Updated content is presented here in a highly visual format, making it easy to learn the basics of drawing for each phase of the design process. This new Third Edition includes access to a full suite of online resources. Students and designers studying for the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ) will especially appreciate these new materials. This revision also keeps pace with evolving construction standards and design conventions. Two new chapters, 'Concept Development and the Design Process' and 'Structural Systems for Buildings,' along with expanded coverage of building information modeling (BIM), address the latest design trends. Includes online access to all-new resources for students and instructors Provides real-world perspective using countless example drawings and photos Focuses on interior design-specific aspects of construction documentation Serves as a perfect reference for the contract documents section of the NCIDQ exam Written by designers, for designers, Construction Drawings and Details for Interiors remains a standout choice for the fields of interior design, technical drawing, and construction documentation. From schematics through to working drawings, learn to communicate your vision every step of the way.
Hand Drafting for Interior Design by
Hand Drafting for Interior Design shows you how to create beautiful interior design drawings to share with clients. Detailed examples illustrate how to render furniture, floors, walls, windows, plants in floor plans and elevations, using a T-square and a triangle. Progressing from the most basic lessons on how to line up a T-square on the paper, you will learn the complete drafting process, from choosing the right tools to the finished drawing. This new edition builds on the strength of the prior editions by adding commercial examples, electrical and lighting plans, custom millwork, and process drawings. New to this Edition · Explains how to use a lettering guide to easily improve your hand lettering skills · Includes a discussion for using a metric scale and a conversion chart· Expanded coverage of Architectural Elements drawn in plan view, including ADA push/pull clearances at doors, and stairs · The kitchen and bath section includes planning for ADA (wheelchair-bound individuals and aging in place)· A chapter dedicated to drawings used for custom millwork has been added· A final chapter on putting it all together covers title blocks, sheet layout, index of drawings, and symbol legends
Interior Design Illustrated by
The bestselling guide to interior design, updated with new code and technology Interior Design Illustrated is the definitive guide to design for interior spaces. Richly illustrated in author Francis Ching's signature style, this book introduces complex design concepts in a visually stunning format; from defining the space and using the elements of design, to planning building systems and incorporating sustainable materials, this volume embodies the idea that beauty and function are not separate entities, but two parts of a whole. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest building codes and design practices, with discussion of new materials related to acoustics, lighting, and sustainable furnishings. Renewed attention to sustainability includes new information on energy conservation, design for longevity and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, as well as an updated discussion on LED lighting, workplace design, use of color, and computer modeling software to provide a well-rounded view of how interior design firms are working today. This classic text brings the elements and principles of design to life, giving students the practical skills they need to transition from idea to concept. Understand the latest building codes and how to integrate them into your design Explore new advances in materials, lighting, and wireless technology Design from a perspective of sustainability, longevity, and energy efficiency Delve into BIM, including software for modeling lighting, acoustics, and more Interior designers work at the intersection of aesthetics, functionality, regulations, accessibility, sustainability, and technology. There's no one formula for getting it right, only an eye trained by experience, based on a mastery of design fundamentals. Interior Design Illustrated begins laying that foundation, guided by a leading global authority in the field.
Interior Design Visual Presentation by
A newly updated and comprehensive guide to all aspects of visual design From doing a quick sketch to producing a fully rendered model, the ability to create visual representations of designs is a critical skill for every designer. Interior Design Visual Presentation, Fifth Edition offers thorough coverage of interior design communication used throughout the design process, complete with a broad range of real-world examples. This fully updated handbook presents a full range of styles and techniques used for interior design visual communication, from hand drawing to 3D computer modeling. Its accessible, how-to approach guides you through a variety of methods for executing creative and successful design graphics, models, and presentations. Recognizing the ongoing proliferation of digital tools for visual representation, this edition provides the latest information on software used in presentation such as Photoshop, and SketchUp, and covers the integration of Revit, and AutoCAD generated content into design presentations. * Covers all aspects of visual design and presentation for interior designers * Includes color illustrations that feature a wide range of project types including residential, healthcare and public projects, designed to highlight step-by-step instructions * Provides a discussion of incorporation of 3D digital models into presentations including use in virtual reality, and expanded information on scale models including a discussion of 3D printing * Includes a companion website for instructors, featuring PowerPoint lecture slides and an instructor's manual From traditional to cutting-edge techniques, Interior Design Visual Presentation, Fifth Edition gives students and professionals alike the tools to give life to their design vision.
See our interior design materials page for more books.
Basics Interior Architecture 05: Texture + Materials by
Basics Interior Architecture 05: Texture + Materials forms an inspiring introduction to many of the materials currently used in the design of interior spaces.The book explores the choice and use of materials and evaluates the effects of these choices on a space, discussing topics such as light, termperature, acoustics and general atmosphere.Each chapter assesses a single material, with its inherent flaws and individual qualities, and places it in its historical, geographical and cultural context. Readers are encouraged to consider the sustainability of each material and its future use, and text is accompanied by both historical and contemporary case studies.
Interior Design Materials and Specifications by
This complete guide to the selection of materials for interiors has been updated to reflect the most recent materials on the market and contemporary awareness on industry movements like sustainability. Written from the viewpoint of the working designer, Interior Design Materials and Specifications, 4th Edition, describes each material's characteristics and teaches students how to evaluate, select, and specify materials, taking into account factors including code compliance, building standards, sustainability guidelines, human needs, and bidding processes. Students will learn how to communicate with suppliers and vendors to achieve the results they envision and how to avoid some of the pitfalls common to material selection and specification. New to this Edition: -Removed laminated materials chapter and dispersing information into related materials chapters. -Inclusion of a Smart Materials chapter and sustainability information throughout. -Updated all case studies throughout text. STUDIO Features: -Self-Assessment Quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips. -Review key concepts with Flashcards of essential vocabulary. -Watch Videos to tour materials plants. Instructor Resources: -PowerPoint Slides for each chapter. -Instructor's Guide with sample course outlines for teaching and tools for integrating the STUDIO with the course.
Interior Surfaces and Materials by
Architecture is defined by its materials and surfaces. Not infrequently, it is their look and feel that determine whether a project succeeds or fails. For this reason, it is crucially important that planners choose the right materials and use them correctly, a task that is especially challenging today, when they are confronted with an almost dizzying variety of design possibilities and almost unlimited industrial production techniques. In Detail: Materials for Interiors provides detailed and specific information on the use of appropriate materials in interior design. The book leads off with an overview of the range of available products for interior design, including large-format photographs of each material and interiors that use them. This is followed by detailed discussions of relevant aspects and production methods of the individual material groups, including selected examples. The processing of the materials is illustrated by production photographs from the construction site and numerous detail drawings. In the accompanying texts, expert planners who specialize in the various materials share their practical knowledge of how to use them. The technical articles and example projects focus on the surface of the material and how it is produced or comes to be and contain corresponding decision support for planners. Additional technical information on the materials used and a list of manufacturer and vendor addresses round out the volume. Werkstoffe und Oberflächen prägen die Architektur. Nicht selten entscheiden deren Optik und Haptik über Erfolg oder Misserfolg eines Projektes. Umso mehr stellt die richtige Auswahl und Verwendung von Materialien für den Planer eine besondere Herausforderung dar, der heutzutage - besonders im Innenausbau - einer nahezu unübersichtlichen Vielfalt an Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten und nahezu uneingeschränkten industriellen Fertigungstechniken gegenübersteht. ,,Im Detail: Material im Innenraum" liefert gezielte und detaillierte Informationen zum Einsatz geeigneter Materialien im Innenausbau. Den Auftakt des Buches bildet ein Überblick über die Produktpalette beim Innenausbau mit einem großformatigen Fotos des jeweiligen Materials und eines damit ausgestatteten Innenraums. Planungsrelevante Aspekte und Fertigungsmethoden der einzelnen Materialgruppen werden dann anhand ausgewählter Beispiele detailliert erläutert. Die Verarbeitung der Werkstoffe wird durch Fertigungsfotos von der Baustelle und mit zahlreichen Detailzeichnungen veranschaulicht. Die Begleittexte vermitteln das Praxiswissen von den jeweiligen Fachplanern zum Einsatz der Werkstoffe. Der Schwerpunkt der Fachartikel und der Projektbeispiele liegt dabei auf der Materialoberfläche, deren Entstehungs- bzw. Herstellungsprozess und birgt entsprechende Entscheidungshilfen für die Planung. Zusätzliche technische Infos zu den verwendeten Materialien sowie Hersteller/Bezugsadressen runden das Buch ab.
Materials and Interior Design by
The choice of materials is critical to the success of an interior. This book examines every aspect of the the use of materials in interior design, from initial concept and selection to visual representation and practical application. The book includes useful step-by-step sequences, information on properties and sustainability, and a list of resources, online archives, and samplelibraries. It is an invaluable practical and inspirational guide for interior design students.
Materials for Interior Environments by
Organized by types of materials and applications, this guide helps designers successfully address material evaluation and selection of interior components. Engagingly written, highly detailed, and helpfully illustrated with more than 550 color illustrations, Materials for Interior Environments is a comprehensive guide to everything a designer needs to know about the materials available for interiors--from aesthetic qualities to manufacturing and fabrication, applications, installation and maintenance, and specifications for materials used in commercial and residential applications.
ADA in Details by
Integrate your designs with compliant access interpretations ADA in Details provides a visual interpretation of the 2010 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Standards for a convenient, go-to reference of pertinent scoping, technical requirements, and sourcing information. Architects, designers, and everyone else involved in the built environment can turn to this authoritative resource to understand accessibility compliance for places of public accommodation, commercial facilities, and public buildings. Every detail is presented with both a clear explanation and illustrations that synthesize federal regulations and the 2016 California Building Code (CBC). A reference of this scope presenting visual detail examples and specifications for both newly constructed and existing facilities enables you to: Get up to speed on accessibility standards and requirements Differentiate the CBC from the ADA Standards with color contrasting text and graphics for immediate clarification Keep a solutions guide at your fingertips for accessible routes, site features, architectural elements, restrooms, and more Quickly find requirements for specialty areas of accessibility, including assembly areas, kitchens, storage spaces, hospitality and recreational facilities, as well as dwelling units Integrate accessibility into any space with ADA in Details.
Applying the Building Code by
No other resource--not even the building code--presents the exact code information you need, when you need it at design stage The International Building Code (IBC) is a model building code developed by the International Code Council (ICC). The IBC and its complementary codes provide design and construction professionals with a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety and fire prevention regulations in order to safeguard the public health and general welfare of the occupants of new and existing buildings and structures. Adopted throughout most of the United States and its territories, it is referenced by federal agencies, such as the General Services Administration, National Park Service, Department of State, U.S. Forest Service, and the Department of Defense. For architects and other design and construction professionals, it is particularly important that they understand how to apply the IBC and how code officials view buildings, so that they integrate code-required provisions in the earliest design stages of any project. Applying the IBC, as well as its companion codes, to building design is a process that is uniquely different to that of applying the building code during a planning review. Whereas other guide books explain the IBC in sequential order, from cover to cover, chapter by chapter, and section by section, Applying the Building Code explains the requirements of the IBC as they would apply during the common phases of design: from schematic design through to the preparation of construction documents. This effectively highlights applicable requirements of the building code at the appropriate stage of design based on available information. The book provides a 28-step process that is organized according to the three phases of architectural design: schematic design, design development, and construction documents Each step explains the application of the IBC, as well as other codes and standards referenced by the IBC (i.e. International Fire Code, International Energy Conservation Code, and ANSI A117.1) based on available project information Illustrations and examples are provided throughout that explain the code fundamentals associated with each step A single example project is used throughout the step-by-step process to illustrate how each step is applied and builds upon code and project information obtained through previous steps Guidance is also provided on the International Existing Building Code and how the step-by-step process is applied to projects involving existing buildings The role of the building department and its staff in regard to plan reviews and code enforcement is discussed A detailed code data information template is provided that can help organize code-related information for construction documents
Building Codes for Existing and Historic Buildings by
Learn to apply the International Building Code and International Existing Building Code to historic buildings Written for architects, engineers, preservation, and code enforcement professionals, this is the only comprehensive book that examines how the International Building Code (IBC) and the International Existing Building Code (IEBC) can be applied to historic and existing buildings. For ease of use, the book is organized to parallel the structure of the IEBC itself, and the approach is cumulative, with the objective of promoting an understanding of the art of applying building regulations to the environment of existing buildings. Building Codes for Existing and Historic Buildings begins with a discussion of the history of building regulations in the United States and the events and conditions that created them. Next, it provides thorough coverage of: The rationale behind code provisions and historic preservation principles Major building code requirements: occupancy and use, types of construction, and heights and areas Building performance characteristics: fire and life safety, structural safety, health and hygiene, accident prevention, accessibility, and energy conservation Case study projects that reinforce the material covered Additionally, the book includes building analysis worksheets--both blank and filled-in versions with examples--that illustrate how to develop a code approach for an individual building. If you are a professional at any level who is working on creating a plan that meets the intent of the code for historic or existing buildings, Building Codes for Existing and Historic Buildings gives you everything that you need to succeed.
Building Codes Illustrated by
THE BESTSELLING, FULLY ILLUSTRATED GUIDE TO THE 2018 INTERNATIONAL BUILDING CODE Uniquely marrying the graphic skills of bestselling author Francis D.K Ching with the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA, the new sixth edition of Building Codes Illustrated is a clear, concise, and easy-to-use visual guide to the International Building Code (IBC) for 2018. Fully updated throughout, it highlights all of the changes to the code for quick reference and easy navigation. It pulls out the portions of the building code that are most relevant for the architect and provides an easy-to-understand interpretation in both words and illustrations. The first two chapters of Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2018 International Building Code, Sixth Edition give background and context regarding the development, organization, and use of the IBC. The following sections cover such information as: use and occupancy; building heights and areas; types of construction; fire-resistive construction; interior finishes; means of egress; accessibility; energy efficiency; roof assemblies; structural provisions; special inspections and tests; soils and foundations; building materials and systems; and more. A complete, user-friendly guide to code-compliant projects Highlights all the significant changes in the 2018 IBC Uses clear language and Frank Ching's distinctive illustrations to demystify the 2018 International Build Code (IBC) text Provides students and professionals with a fundamental understanding of IBC development, interpretation, and application Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to Understanding the 2018 International Building Code gives students and professionals in architecture, interior design, construction, and engineering a user-friendly, easy-to-use guide to the fundamentals of the 2018 IBC.
Heating, Cooling, Lighting by
Sustainable environmental control through building design Heating, Cooling, and Lighting is the industry standard text on environmental control systems with the emphasis on sustainable design. By detailing the many factors that contribute to the comfort in a building, this book helps architects minimize mechanical systems and energy usage over the life of the building by siting, building design, and landscaping to maximize natural heating, cooling, and lighting. This new fourth edition includes new information on integrated design strategies and designing for the Tropics. Resources include helpful case studies, checklists, diagrams, and a companion website featuring additional cases, an image bank, and instructor materials. Designing buildings that require less energy to heat, cool, and light means allowing the natural energy of the sun and wind to reduce the burden on the mechanical and electrical systems. Basic design decisions regarding size, orientation, and form have a great impact on the sustainability, cost, and comfort of a building. Heating, Cooling, and Lighting provides detailed guidance for each phase of a design project. Readers will: Understand the concept of sustainability as applied to energy sources Review the basic principles of thermal comfort, and the critical role of climate Learn the fundamentals of solar responsive design, including active and passive solar systems as well as photovoltaics Discover how siting, architectural design, and landscaping can reduce the requirements for mechanical and electrical systems In sustainable design, mechanical, and electrical systems should be used to only accomplish what the architect could not by the design of the building itself. With this in mind, designers require a comprehensive understanding of both the properties of energy and the human factors involved in thermal comfort. Heating, Cooling, and Lighting is the complete, industry-leading resource for designers interested in sustainable environmental control.
Lighting Redesign for Existing Buildings by
In Lighting Redesign for Existing Buildings, veteran journalist and educator Craig DiLouie identifies opportunities to both save energy and improve lighting performance in existing buildings. The book outlines the decision-making process behind whether to retrofit or redesign an existing lighting system, describes basic lighting design techniques and how to evaluate lighting equipment, details lighting legislation and energy codes, identifies advanced lighting strategies, and describes the role planned maintenance can play in saving energy and ensuring long-term performance. Readers will gain in-depth insight into assessing and capturing their opportunities with better lighting.
