Research Guides: Art: Periodicals

Find Periodicals

Find a Periodical
Find an Article

To locate a specific periodical, search the 'Books & More' tab on the library website. On the results page, use the menu to refine to 'Journals.'

Look under 'Online Access' to find links to electronic periodicals.
Physical periodicals do not circulate but can be scanned or photographed.
- Recently-published physical periodicals are kept onsite in the library.
- Older issues are bound together and kept offsite; request using the library catalog.
Additional electronic and print periodicals can be accessed at Consortium Libraries (NYU, Cooper Union, New York School of Interior Design).

View our FAQ on how to find a journal article.

Learn how to request physical periodicals or scans from our offsite facility.

Request articles that we don't have in library collections using InterLibrary Loan.

Current issues of print periodicals are shelved in the Periodicals Collection at the University Center, 6th floor. We subscribe to:

Art & Antiques
Artforum International
Art in America
Bulletin of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
Crafts

Juxtapoz
Metropolitan Museum Journal
Osmos
Texte Zur Kunst
Whitewall

Also check out our Photography periodicals!

Older issues are bound and can be requested from offsite. Request physical delivery of an entire issue, or a scan of an article.

Art Criticism (1979-2003)
Art in America (1957-present)
Artes de Mexico (1988-2000)
Artforum (1963-present)
ARTnews (1924-present)
Arts Magazine (1954-1991)
Gazette des Beaux-Arts (1925-1925 Special Collections)

International Review of African American Art fka Black Art (1976-2011)
L'Oeil (1955-2007)
Modern Painters (1988-2019)
NY Arts (1998-2014)
Parkett (1984-2017)
Portfolio (1979-1983)
Quadrum (1956-1966)
Studio International (1967-1983)

Some of these periodicals ceased publication. Others we canceled because they are now available through library databases.

Art and Visual Studies Periodicals

Ars Orientalis
Each fall the Freer and Sackler publishes, with the University of Michigan, a journal of the latest research in art of the Middle East and Asia. Titled Ars Orientalis, the journal is a collection of scholarship that crosses academic disciplines and aims to connect researchers, institutions, and ideas using one central theme per volume.
Art Journal Open (AJO)
Art Journal Open (AJO) is an open-access digital journal for the visual arts, which presents artists’ projects, conversations and interviews, scholarly essays, and other forms of content from across the cultural field.
British Art Studies
The aim of British Art Studies is to provide an innovative space for new research and scholarship of the highest quality on all aspects of British art, architecture and visual culture in their most diverse and international contexts.
Journal18: a journal of eighteenth-century art and culture
Journal18 is an online, open access, peer-reviewed journal devoted to the art and culture of the long eighteenth century from around the globe.
Materia: Journal of Technical Art History
Materia is co-edited by a group of conservators and art historians based in Europe and North America, and is supported by a specialist international advisory board consisting of academics, conservators and museum curators
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide: a journal of nineteenth-century visual culture
Founded in 2002, Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide (NCAW) is a scholarly, refereed digital journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe.

Artforum
Covers the contemporary art world, with sections on architecture, music, advertising and reviews of contemporary exhibitions worldwide.
Art Journal
The mission of Art Journal, founded in 1941, is to provide a forum for scholarship and visual exploration in the visual arts; to be a unique voice in the field as a peer-reviewed, professionally mediated forum for the arts.
Metropolitan Museum Journal
Founded in 1968, the Metropolitan Museum Journal is a blind, peer-reviewed scholarly journal published annually that features original research on the history, interpretation, conservation, and scientific examination of works of art in the Museum’s collection. Its scope encompasses the diversity of artistic practice from antiquity to the present day.
The Art Bulletin
The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions. From its founding in 1913, the journal has published, through rigorous peer review, scholarly articles and critical reviews of the highest quality in all areas and periods of the history of art. Articles take a variety of methodological approaches, from the historical to the theoretical.

Criticism
Criticism provides a forum for current scholarship on literature, media, music, and visual culture. A place for rigorous theoretical and critical debate as well as formal and methodological self-reflexivity and experimentation, Criticism aims to present contemporary thought at its most vital.
Journal of Visual Culture
Journal of Visual Culture is an international refereed journal that welcomes compelling, critically engaged contributions that explore and expand trans-disciplinary global visual cultures.
Latin American and Latinx Visual Culture
Latin American and Latinx Visual Culture is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing the most current international research on the visual culture of Mexico, Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, as well as that created in diaspora. A defining focus of the journal is its concentration of current scholarship on both Latin American and Latinx visual culture in a single publication. The journal aims to approach ancient, colonial, modern and contemporary Latin American and Latinx visual culture from a range of interdisciplinary methodologies and perspectives.
Visual Culture & Gender
The purpose of the journal is to encourage and promote an understanding of how visual culture constructs gender in context with representations of race, age, sexuality, social units, and social class.

Art

Find Periodicals

Art Print Periodicals

Art and Visual Studies Periodicals

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges