Skip to main content

Faculty Resources at The New School Libraries and Archives

Search our Catalog

The Libraries provide services, such as research help from a Subject Librarian, and contain many different types of materials: books, magazines, newspapers, videos, images, both in print and online. We make available 24/7 resources like Research Guides, video tutorials and subscription databases which contain resources not found on the open web.

Start your search for library materials in our online catalog, BobCat. The online catalog is the #1 best way to see what we have in our collections because what you're looking for may be:

  • Online (e.g., e-books, databases)
  • Onsite (in various locations)
  • Offsite (at our offsite storage facility in Westchester)
  • Checked out by other users
  • Not owned by us and accessible through E-ZBorrow(?) or other means.

Login to BobCat

Bobcat can be accessed from The New School Libraries and Archives website. Logging into Bobcat will allow you to access your library account and electronic resources from remote locations.

 

How to Search Bobcat

Use BobCat to search the resources of New School Libraries and Archives and Consortium Libraries.

Books and More
Search the Books & More tab for books, journals, videos, sound recordings and archival collections at the libraries and archives of The New School, New York University, Cooper Union, New York Historical Society, Brooklyn Historical Society and the New York School of Interior Design. Note that journals, newspapers and magazines will be listed by title only, and individual articles cannot be accessed from these tabs.

After performing a search, in the list of results, you can:

- Click on the book's title
- Click on the Availability link
- Click on Details 

* Click on the title or availability link to view e-books.

You will need the following information to find a printed book.

• Library (University Center, List Center, Performing Arts Library) and Collection (Main, Reserve, etc.)
• Library of Congress call number 

Articles and Databases
In order to search for articles within and across the New School Library's databases, please use the Articles and Databases, Databases A-Z, and Journals A-Z tabs in BobCat. 

 

 

How to Access Archival Materials

Detailed guides to The New School's archival collections can be browsed on the Archives and Special Collection's website.

Digital collections from the archives may be searched and browsed on the Digital Collections website.

You do not need to register or log-in to use either of these sites.