Skip to main content

Interior Design Collections in the Kellen Design Archives

An overview of materials available for researchers interested in exploring the history of interior design using the Kellen Design Archives.

Stanley Barrows

This is a portrait of Parsons alumnus and former faculty member Stanley Barrows. An interview conducted with him in 1994 provides a great deal of information into how interior design was taught from the 1940s through the 1960s.

Sound recordings

The Kellen Design Archives' recorded sound collection includes oral history interviews with Interior Design Department alumni and instructors.

Two collections may be of direct interest to interior design researchers.

The oral histories comprising this collection were conducted in the fall and winter of 2010 in preparation for the exhibit, Radical Shifts: Reshaping the Interior at Parsons, 1955-1985, with the goal of recording a range of perspectives on the interior and environmental design departments at Parsons School of Design in the 1960s and 1970s. During this period, Parsons' longstanding and famous interior design program completely transformed, adopting a more experimental and socially engaged program of study in the newly-created Environmental Design Department.

The Parsons School of Design Centenary Oral History Project consists of recorded sound interviews with twelve individuals as well as two audio monologues by the project's manager, Martica Sawin. These interviews, all recorded in 1994, cover the history of different academic departments and design disciplines over the course of the twentieth century as experienced by leading former and then-current instructors and administrators. Recordings are all in English.