Skip to main content

How do I access the New School Archives and Special Collections, including the Kellen Design Archives?

This guide explains everything researchers need to know about accessing the New School Archives and Special Collections.

Accessing the New School Archives and Special Collections

Q: How can I gain access to the New School Archives?

A: You can e-mail us at archivist@newschool.edu or you can call us at 212.229.5942. An archivist will probably ask you some questions about your research to make sure we have appropriate materials for you.

      Q: Can I just stop by the New School Archives?

        A: No, we strongly recommend making an appointment. Please leave ample time between contacting us and the date you would like to conduct research as many of our collections are offsite.                                       

Q: Do I have to be a Parsons or New School student to use the New School Archives and the Kellen Design Archives?

        A: No, the Archives was established for use by all students, alumni, faculty and New School staff. Additionally, outside researchers are welcome to use our collections. You do not need to be an academic or scholar to conduct research in the Archives.

      Q: Do I need a New School ID card, a consortium ID card or a METRO referral card to use the New School Archives?

        A: No. We do not require any form of identification. You will, however, be required to complete a registration form and sign an agreement on rules of conduct when working with archival materials. 

      Q: I have never done archival research. Will you help me?

A: An archivist will provide you with the information you need to research archival collections. If you are new to archival research, we strongly recommend that you budget more time than you would normally budget for library research.

We also offer archival instruction to classes. These instructional sessions can be set up by faculty members. Please contact the New School Archives for more information.