Skip to main content

Fashion Photography in the Kellen Design Archives

Fashion Designers

The following are collections of archival records created by 20th century fashion designers. These collections all contain fashion photographs. Some have only a few images, while others contain many examples of fashion photography.

Also, please keep in mind that fashion photography may be represented in different types of formats, such as clippings, tear sheets, press kits, and scrapbooks.


  • Adri Fashion Design Business records, 1970-1989

Mary Adrienne Steckling (1934-2006) graduated from Parsons in 1958. In 1966 she developed her own line and continued designing under her own labels for the rest of her career. In 1982, Adri received the prestigious Coty American Fashion Critics "Winnie" award. The collection documents Adri's business and professional life, with materials largely arranged according to year and season. Includes swatches, clippings, tear sheets, sketches, photographs, slides, videotapes, patterns, and presentation portfolios.

  • Tom Brigance clippings scrapbooks and fashion sketches, 1932-1977

After graduating from Parsons in 1934, Tom Brigance (1913-1990) became a fashion designer specializing in women's swimwear and sportswear. Exclusive designer at Frank Gallant in the 1950s, Brigance won the fashion industry's Coty Award in 1953. The collection includes scrapbooks of clippings and photographs publicizing Brigance's designs, sketches, publicity materials, and four original fashion illustrations of Brigance swimwear by Dorothy Hood, produced for Lord & Taylor.

  • Donald Brooks papers, 1957-2003

Donald Brooks (1928-2005) was a prominent American fashion designer who, in addition to creating ready-to-wear collections and custom apparel, designed costumes for film, television, and theater. He taught at Parsons for approximately forty years. The collection includes photographs, publicity materials, and original fashion and costume design sketches.

  • Zack Carr papers, 1969-2000

After graduating from Parsons in 1973, fashion designer Zack Carr (1945-2000) worked for B. Altman, Donald Brooks and Calvin Klein. In 1984 Carr started his own line. The collection includes material produced and compiled from 1969-2000, and includes sketches for Calvin Klein, idea books, photographs, news clippings and biographical material. The collection also includes a pattern drafting notebook and other examples of work Carr did as a Parsons student.

  • Edith d'Errecalde papers, circa 1940s-1981

Edith d'Errecalde (1905-2002) worked for Mainbocher in the 1940s and started her own sportswear company, Maxmil, in 1951. Later d'Errecalde worked for Evan-Picone and as fashion director for Cohama. The d'Errecalde papers contain photographs, sketches, news clippings, advertisements, press kits, correspondence, and notes and manuscripts for articles and lectures. D'Errecalde was a critic and lecturer at Parsons in 1969-1970.

  • Raymond Driscoll scrapbook and fashion illustrations, 1942-1961

With a career that extended from the 1930s to the 1960s, Raymond Driscoll (1915-2004) was perhaps most widely known for his annual best and worst-dressed lists. He also achieved recognition for his costume designs for Mexican film stars. The collection is comprised of Driscoll's scrapbook of photographs, news clippings, invitations, and greeting cards from film stars and politicians documenting his work in the 1940s and '50s, as well as original fashion sketches.

  • Norman Norell fashion sketches, 1930s-1971

Norman Norell (1900-1972) was the first American fashion designer to compete successfully with French couture. In 1943, he received the first Coty American Fashion Critics Award and in 1956 was inducted into the Coty Hall of Fame. Norell was a visiting critic at Parsons from 1943 until his death in 1972. The collection includes fashion sketches, photographs, news clippings, print ads, awards, scrapbooks, biographical material and two examples of Norell's clothing.

  • Herbert Sondheim fashion business scrapbooks, circa 1923-1947

Herbert Sondheim (1895-1966), who taught at Parsons in 1946, ran a dressmaking business that produced affordable versions of high-end fashion. The Kellen Design Archives holds Sondheim's nineteen scrapbooks, the bulk of which contain fashion drawings depicting the work of Vionnet, Chanel, Molyneux, and others. Sondheim used these drawings as templates and inspiration for his own dress designs. Two scrapbooks contain news clippings, photographs and correspondence from 1946-1947.

  • Joset Walker scrapbooks, 1932-1958

French-born Joset Walker (1902-1999) graduated from Parsons in 1928. A leading designer of ready-to-wear clothing for Saks Fifth Avenue's Theatrical Department, Walker briefly served as head costume designer for RKO Studios, working under the name Josette De Lima. Walker began designing for wholesale manufacturer David M. Goodstein in 1940, and founded Joset Walker Designs before retiring from fashion design. The collection includes scrapbooks of news clippings, publicity and fashion photographs, and ephemera documenting Walker's career.

  • Chester Weinberg scrapbook, 1966-1974

Chester Weinberg (1931-1985) graduated from Parsons in 1951 and served as a visiting critic and lecturer on fashion design at the school, 1955-1985. Weinberg rose to fame in the 1960s, establishing his own label in 1966. He later became a consultant and was appointed Design Director of Calvin Klein jeans in 1981. The collection consists of a scrapbook containing news clippings, fashion print ads, and photographs chronicling Weinberg’s early career from 1966 until the early 1970s.

  • John Weitz papers, 1945-1998

A leading figure in the development of American ready-to-wear clothing, John Weitz (1923-2002) established one of the first signature menswear lines. Through various licensing arrangements combined with self-referential advertising campaigns, he became a multi-millionaire and established an international consumer base. In addition to fashion design, Weitz pursued an array of other interests, becoming a successful racing car driver, yachtsman, best-selling author and photographer. Weitz was a frequent visiting lecturer at Parsons School of Design between 1975 and 1995. The collection includes sketches and design drawings, exhibition files, scrapbooks, newspaper and magazine clippings, publications, photographs, and audiovisual recordings of promotional campaigns, fashion shows and television commercials.