Skip to main content

Fashion Photography in the Kellen Design Archives

From the Saks Fifth Avenue fashion publicity collection

From the Margaret Hodge Company project files

Fashion Marketing, Merchandising, and Publicity Collections

The following are collections of archival records created in the course of marketing fashion. These collections all contain fashion photographs. Some have only a few images, while others contain many examples of fashion photography.

Also, please keep in mind that fashion photography may be represented in different types of formats, such as clippings, tear sheets, press kits, and scrapbooks.


  • Fashion look books and merchandising collection, 1960s-2001

Contains printed and moving image publicity materials produced for late 20th century fashion designers. Predominant designers include: Calvin Klein, Donna Karan (DKNY), Joseph Abboud, Pierre Balmain, Ralph Lauren, and Tommy Hilfiger. Also contains printed materials produced for Parsons' alumni Anna Sui, Badgley Mischka, Isaac Mizrahi, Marc Jacobs, Narcisco Rodriguez, Peter Speliopoulus, and Bruce (Daphne Gutierrez and Nicole Noselli).

  • Margaret Hodge Company project files, 1945-1980

After graduating from Parsons in 1945, Margaret Hodge became director of fashion marketing at Vogue, and in 1967 established her own fashion publicity business. Hodge led multiple marketing campaigns, tying clothing lines to the style and fashion of Hollywood films. The collection largely consists of examples of promotional material from Hollywood films, including publicity, set and costume design photographs, press kits, event announcements and tear sheets. The bulk of the material was produced between 1962 and 1976.

  • Saks Fifth Avenue fashion publicity collection, 1954-1974

The collection is comprised of 75 binders of fashion photographs promoting Saks’ clothing lines, including Sophie Gimbel Originals, ready-to-wear, and custom collections from 1954-1967.  These photographs and reproductions of fashion sketch sheets display the development and progression of Saks designers’ collections.