Skip to main content

Fashion Photography in the Kellen Design Archives

Sound recordings

The Kellen Design Archives holds an oral history interview with Frank Rizzo, a longtime faculty member and former chair of the Parsons School of Design Fashion Design Department and with Alan Gussow, a fashion illustration faculty member.

We also have recordings of critic directions from 1994-1995 and a Fashion Focus lecture series from 1984-1985.

Records "About" Fashion Photography

If you are researching the history of fashion photography through how it was taught or the type of classes a photographer who attended Parsons might have taken, the Kellen Design Archives has archival resources that may be useful to your research.

Please contact us!

Collections and records related to Parsons' educational programs

The following are collections of archival records created by Parsons The New School for Design from the 1920s through the 2000s. These records all contain fashion photographs.

  • Parsons Photograph collection

Includes 1,400 photographs, contact sheets, and negatives documenting Parsons student and campus life, including exhibitions, award and fashion shows, guest lectures, field trips, and campus construction projects. An in-house inventory is available upon request. These records contain many photographs of fashion shows, visiting critics and lecturers in the Fashion Design Department, and photographs of fashion students and their work.

  • Parsons School of Design Alumni Association, 1920-1970 (bulk 1952-1970)

Parsons School of Design Alumni Association was incorporated in 1952 and continued until Parsons School of Design merged into the New School for Social Research in 1970. Records contains correspondence, financial records, minutes, photographic materials, printed materials, scrapbooks of clippings, and subject files. Also includes documents generated by earlier alumni associations that the Alumni Association incorporated into its working files. These records contain numerous photographs of fashion shows, fashion designers, and the Fashion Design Department, including visiting designers.

  • Parsons Fashion Design Department records (pre-2008 accessions), 1947-2008

Contains the records of the Fashion Design Department of Parsons The New School for Design. Departmental records include course syllabi and descriptions, materials pertaining to the annual fashion show, scrapbooks, and student work.

  • Slides, 1960-2001 

Contains hundreds of color slides documenting the activities of the Fashion Design Department from the late 1960s through the late 1990s, including fashion shows, visiting critics and lecturers, and class sessions.