Skip to main content

Public Art Research

STEP 1: Wikipedia

As a free encyclopedia that is edited by the public, Wikipedia cannot be completely relied on for accurate information and should never be cited in academic research. However, we can use it to gather basic background information. 

Some Wikipedia entries have bibliographies at the bottom containing scholarly material that can be cited for your paper.

STEP 2: Public Art by City

Search by city. You may visit the cultural affairs department or public programs pages of a city's official website to find information about their public art programs and directories to objects.

STEP 3: Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online is a scholarly, comprehensive, art encyclopedia that has short entries on art. All the entries are written by top scholars in their fields. A keyword search will show you all entries that match your keyword. Check out the sources listed in the bibliography for each entry. These books or articles may be available in the library.

STEP 4: Search for Books, Articles, DVDs and More

Type keywords in the 'Consortium' tab or 'New School Resources' tab of the online catalog. Gathering background information helps generate a list of different keywords to try, e.g.,

  • the artist's name,
  • title of the artwork,
  • medium,
  • time period,
  • location
  • or movement. 

Broad terms work best. If one keyword does not produce results, try another! 

STEP 5: Search 'Articles & Databases'

Use the 'Articles and Databases' tab of the online catalog to search for articles within multiple databases grouped by subject or format. Click into the 'Art History' category to start your search. Here you can search using more specific keywords.

STEP 6: Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides access to scholarly articles and conference papers, many of them available online as PDF files. 

If you open Google Scholar when logged into the online catalog or MyNewSchool, you'll also have access to journal articles that are part of for-pay databases (such as JSTOR).

Do not pay to get the full text of any article, if you can't find the full text, Ask Us for help.