Skip to main content

Public Art Research

Our Archives and Special Collections

The Arts and Public Programs, 1931-2008 Collection in the Kellen Design Archives "consist[s] of materials produced by and about a number of arts and culture courses, exhibitions, initiatives, and public programs at The New School between 1931 and 2008...." 

Located on the lobby level of 66 Fifth Avenue, the Kellen Design Archives is a resource for primary materials related to the history of Parsons and 20th century American design, and the careers of the school’s illustrious faculty, students, alumni and associates.

OUR ART COLLECTION

"Installed throughout the university campus and transforming the public spaces into lively forums for examining contemporary art, the collection offers students and faculty a rare opportunity to engage with art on a daily basis...The collection has continued its tradition of incorporating site-specific works into its public spaces. Works by artists such as Sol LeWitt, Dave Muller, Martin Puryear, Brian Tolle, and Kara Walker have been added in recent years." (click the image above for more info)

OTHER LIBRARIES

Consortium Libraries: The New School students have access and borrowing privileges at Consortium libraries, which include Bobst Library at NYU, NYSID and Cooper Union (see also our Access Grid). We're also part of a larger consortium called PALCI through which we have access to the books collections of 70 academic research libraries (70 million volumes). 

Public Libraries: The New School students have access to and can get a library card at all branches of the New York Public Library, Brooklyn Public Library and Queens Library.  NYPL’s Stephen A. Schwarzman Building at 42nd Street and Fifth Avenue contains non-circulating research collections, including the Art & Architecture collection and the superb Map Division

More Libraries: METRO Referral Cards are passes to area libraries that provide access to specific resources not available from the Consortium libraries or NYC public libraries. Please see a reference librarian for details.

WorldCat is an online union catalog containing the holdings of major libraries throughout the U.S. including libraries in the New York metropolitan area. Use WorldCat to search for books that are not located at The New School Libraries, Consortium libraries and NYC public libraries.