Title, subject headings, table of contents in BobCat
Table of contents and index in the book.
Title, abstract, & subject headings in the Database record
First and last paragraphs and keyword passages in the article.
2. Currency/Date of Publication
Copyright page (behind the title page of the book)
Cover, spine, table of contents, or margins of magazine, journal or newspaper
3. How Scholarly
Language and Presentation (formal/informal)
Authors who are academics, not journalists
Footnotes or bibliography
Original research, not summary of other people’s work
Quotations of and analysis of primary sources
Publisher of book or journal (University Press usually scholarly)
For articles, which database you found it in and how you limited your results, e.g, JSTOR has almost all scholarly articles, Art Full Text has a mix, use the "peer-reviewed" limiter to narrow to only scholarly sources.
Example Book Record in BobCat
Example Article Record in BobCat
4. Extent/Depth of Coverage
In BobCatrecord, click on “More bibliographic information.”
Number of pages appears next to “Description.”
Book’s table of contents and index will show you extent of coverage.
Number of pages appears in Database record.Opt for Feature Articles rather than Reviews.
Appropriate reading level (college vs. high school)
Check for signs of bias (objectivity vs. subjectivity)
Assessing the argument
Who is the author or publisher? (Go to 'About' link on websites)
What is the mission of the website?
Who is is intended audience? (Go to 'About' or 'Home' page, or "What we Do," etc.)
Is there bias or opinion?
Is there a last date updated on the site? When is it?
Check the domain: .edu and .org domains are non-commercial (see the 'Google Search Tip' box)
Remember that much information on the internet is produced by businesses, agencies, organizations or individuals with a certain bias or agenda