Research Guides: Economics: Books and Periodicals

Finding Books and Periodicals

Search the library catalog to locate books and journals at The New School Libraries, NYU, and other Consortium libraries. Your New School ID allows you to enter and borrow from these local libraries (pending Covid procedures). We also provide additional access options:

Interlibrary Loan for items not available within the Consortium.
METRO referrals for onsite access at NYC libraries.
Request a Purchase.

The majority of physical materials on economics at The New School are located at List Center Library, 6 East 16th Street, 8th floor. Social sciences are in the "H" call number area.

Use the search results menu to refine "Resource Type" to "Books" or "Journals." Links to ebooks and e-journals are in the "Online Access" section of the item page. The New School also provides access to E-book databases such as Ebook Central.

Finding an article

How Do I Use Google Scholar?

Journal Subscriptions at The New School

Many more e-journals are not listed here but are available through our subscriptions to databases from vendors such as JSTOR.

Annual Review of Economics
Covers significant developments in the field of economics, including macroeconomics and money; microeconomics, including economic psychology; international economics; public finance; health economics; education; economic growth and technological change; economic development; social economics, including culture, institutions, social interaction, and networks; game theory, political economy, and social choice; and more.
Annual Review of Financial Economics
Provides comprehensive, forward-looking and critical reviews of the most significant theoretical, empirical, and experimental developments in financial economics, including the fields of capital markets, corporate finance, financial institutions, market microstructure, and behavioral and experimental finance.
Annual Review of Resource Economics
Provides authoritative critical reviews evaluating the most significant research developments in resource economics, focusing on agricultural economics, environmental economics, renewable resources, and exhaustible resources.
Cambridge Journal of Economics
Founded in the traditions of Marx, Keynes, Kalecki, Joan Robinson and Kaldor, welcomes contributions from heterodox economics as well as other social science disciplines. Within this orientation the journal provides a focus for theoretical, applied, interdisciplinary, history of thought and methodological work, with strong emphasis on realistic analysis, the development of critical perspectives, the provision and use of empirical evidence, and the construction of policy.
Contributions to Political Economy
Provides a forum for the academic discussion of original ideas and arguments drawn from important critical traditions in economic analysis. Articles fall broadly within the lines of thought associated with the work of the Classical political economists, Marx, Keynes, and Sraffa. While the majority of articles are theoretical and historical in emphasis, the journal welcomes articles of a more applied character. It also reviews noteworthy books recently published.
Economic Development and Cultural Change
Publishes studies that use modern theoretical and empirical approaches to examine both the determinants and the effects of various dimensions of economic development and cultural change. EDCC’s focus is on empirical papers with analytic underpinnings, concentrating on micro-level evidence, that use appropriate data to test theoretical models and explore policy impacts related to a broad range of topics relevant to economic development.
Economics & Philosophy
Aims to promote the mutual enrichment of the disciplines of economics and philosophy by publishing articles and book reviews in all areas linking these subjects. Topics include the methodology and epistemology of economics, the foundations of decision theory and game theory, the nature of rational choice in general, historical work on economics with a philosophical purpose, ethical issues in economics, and the use of economic techniques in ethical theory.
Economy and Society
As one of the field’s leading scholarly refereed journals, Economy and Society plays a key role in promoting new debates and currents of social thought. For over 40 years, the journal has explored the social sciences in the broadest interdisciplinary sense, in innovative articles from some of the world’s leading sociologists and anthropologists, political scientists, legal theorists, philosophers, economists and other renowned scholars.
History of Political Economy
Focusing on the history of economic thought and analysis, each issue contains the products of original research on the development of economic thought, the historical background behind major figures in the history of economics, the interpretation of economic theories, and the methodologies available to historians of economic theory.
Journal of Political Economy
Has since 1892 presented significant research and scholarship in economic theory and practice. Aims to publish highly selective, widely cited articles of current relevance that will have a long-term impact on economics research. Analytical, interpretive, and empirical studies in monetary theory, fiscal policy, labor economics, development, micro- and macroeconomic theory, international trade and finance, industrial organization, and social economics.
Journal of Post-Keynesian Economics
JPKE is a scholarly journal of innovative theoretical and empirical work that examines contemporary economic problems. It is committed to the principle that the cumulative development of economic theory is possible only when the theory is continuously subjected to scrutiny in terms of its ability to both explain the real world and to provide a reliable guide to public policy.
NBER Working Papers
Founded in 1920, the NBER is a private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research on new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies. Working Papers have not undergone the review accorded official NBER publications and are intended to make research available to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before publication.
New Left Review
A 160-page journal published every two months from London, New Left Review analyses world politics, the global economy, state powers and protest movements; contemporary social theory, history and philosophy; cinema, literature, heterodox art and aesthetics. It runs a regular book review section and carries interviews, essays, topical comments and signed editorials on political issues of the day.
Rethinking Marxism
A peer-reviewed journal produced by the Association for Economic and Social Analysis. The aim of Rethinking Marxism is to stimulate interest in and debate over the explanatory power and social consequences of Marxian economic, cultural, and social analysis.
Review of Keyesian Economics
The Review of Keynesian Economics (ROKE) is dedicated to the promotion of research in Keynesian economics. Not only does that include Keynesian ideas about macroeconomic theory and policy, it also extends to microeconomic and meso-economic analysis and relevant empirical and historical research. The journal provides a forum for developing and disseminating Keynesian ideas, and intends to encourage critical exchange with other macroeconomic paradigms.
Review of Political Economy
The Review of Political Economy is a peer-reviewed journal welcoming constructive and critical contributions in all areas of political economy, including the Austrian, Behavioral Economics, Feminist Economics, Institutionalist, Marxian, Post Keynesian, and Sraffian traditions.

Open Access

International socialist review : the quarterly journal of the International Socialist Organization.
Dedicated to advancing socialist theory and practice in the U.S. and internationally. Open and critical Marxist analysis of the challenges and opportunities that confront the left and social movements in the 21st century. Published quarterly by the Center for Economic Research and Social Change.
American Review of Political Economy
Open access, double blind, peer reviewed journal, published twice a year. Now accepting manuscripts on all branches of heterodox economics, including Post Keynesian, Institutionalist, Marxian, Sraffian, Austrian, and Classical Political Economy.

Heterodox Journals

Jakob Kapeller and Florian Springholz at the Johannes Kepler University in Linz, Institute for Philosophy and Theory of Science and Institute for Comprehensive Analysis of the Economy (ICAE) have compiled a list of journals related to heterodox economics.

Search for these titles in the library catalog. Many of these journals are indexed by our Economics library databases or by Google Scholar, which you can search from the New School library website.

AEA Publications

The New School Libraries and Archives has an institutional membership to the AEA, which allows all New School students and faculty to access these journals.

American Economic Review
The American Economic Review is a general-interest economics journal. Established in 1911, the AER is among the nation's oldest and most respected scholarly journals in economics.
Journal of Economic Literature
The Journal of Economic Literature (JEL), first published in 1969, is designed to help economists keep abreast of and synthesize the vast flow of literature.
Journal of Economic Perspectives
The Journal of Economic Perspectives (JEP) fills the gap between the general interest press and academic economics journals.
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics
American Economic Journal: Applied Economics publishes papers covering a range of topics in applied economics, with a focus on empirical microeconomic issues.
American Economic Journal: Economic Policy
American Economic Journal: Economic Policy publishes papers covering a range of topics, the common theme being the role of economic policy in economic outcomes.
American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics
American Economic Journal: Macroeconomics focuses on studies of aggregate fluctuations and growth, and the role of policy in that context.
American Economic Journal: Microeconomics
American Economic Journal: Microeconomics publishes papers focusing on microeconomic theory; industrial organization; and the microeconomic aspects of international trade, political economy, and finance.
AEA Papers and Proceedings
AEA Papers and Proceedings is published once a year and contains selected papers and discussions of papers presented at the annual meeting published along with reports of the Secretary and Treasurer, Journal Editors and Committee Chairs.

Newspapers and Magazines

The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The database provides a fully searchable, digitized, facsimile edition of The Economist since it began in 1843 through 2015. It includes relevant material in politics, current affairs, business, and trade, globally.
FT.com This link opens in a new window
Please use FT.com Registration link to create FT.com account.
FT.com Registration This link opens in a new window

Jacobin
Jacobin is a leading voice of the American left, offering socialist perspectives on politics, economics, and culture. The print magazine is released quarterly and reaches over 30,000 subscribers, in addition to a web audience of 1,000,000 a month.

The Nation Archive (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The archive contains PDF page images and searchable text for all issues of The Nation published from 1865 to the present.
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Considered the preeminent source for business news and information on financial markets worldwide, the database provides access to articles through comprehensive, high-quality indexing. Researchers can easily access top news stories and information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture.

Open Access Textbooks

CORE Econ
CORE (Curriculum Open-access Resources in Economics) provides free textbooks and educational materials that focus on the most important problems faced by global societies including climate change, injustice, innovation, and the future of work.
Open Textbook Library
Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Political Economy, Sustaining The Commons, International Economics, Corporate Social Responsibility, etc.

Economics