Skip to main content

Parsons Paris Library Resources

An overview of library resources available to Parsons Paris students

Paris Libraries

BORROWING LIBRARIES

Students and faculty may register for a library card to borrow books from the Bibliotheques de prêt de la Ville de Paris (Paris public libraries for borrowing).   To obtain a library card, complete this form and present it with current, valid identification such as a passport or your school ID to one of the public library branches.  The library nearest to Parsons Paris is Bibliothèque Charlotte Delbo at 2, passage des Petits Pères 75002 Paris.  Other nearby locations are listed here.  Search the catalog of the borrowing libraries here.

Bibliothèque Forney

RESEARCH LIBRARIES - BNF

BnF, Bibliothèque nationale de France, is the national library of France.  They have various locations and digital collections online.  Search the catalog of the Paris research libraries here.  Reseachers are required to have a library card for the Paris research libraries.  Please visit a BNF location for details.  

http://www.bnf.fr/en/bnf/address_transport/s.address_transports_fm.html

Art and Design

Students and faculty performing scholarly research on decorative arts and design may visit Bibliothèque Forney, which specializes in decorative arts and design.  An English-language pamphlet is available.  

Business 

Business resources and research assistance can be found at the François-Mitterrand location of the BNF.  Resources on business and economics (such as Chelem, Orbis, Business Reference Suite, Business Source Premier, Delphes, and Econlit) can be accessed at this location.

 

RESEARCH LIBRARIES - BPI

Inside the Centre Pompidou is the Bpi - the Bibliothèque publique d'information, a public research library with printed materials, sound and visual documents and digital materials in various subjects.  The library is open to everybody, and no library card is needed to view materials (materials are not available for borrowing).  It is closed on Tuesdays.

 

ARCHIVES

Located on the lobby level of 66 Fifth Avenue, The Archives and Special Collections is a resource for primary source materials about the history of The New School and Parsons, and the careers of the schools' illustrious faculty, students, alumni and associates.  Holdings include archival records, manuscripts, posters, original art and design works on paper, oral histories, photographs, films, videotapes, publicity materials and ephemera. Descriptions of collections and information regarding scheduling a visit may be found at:
http://library.newschool.edu/speccoll/

The Archives can answer via e-mail basic questions about the history of Parsons in Paris. Archival resources documenting Parsons' presence in Paris include course catalogs dating back to the 1920s, photographs, and administrative records.

Additionally, the Archives makes some of its numerous collections available online to students and faculty who cannot physically visit for an appointment. Please contact the Archives at archivist@newschool.edu to discuss your needs with our staff.