Research Guides: E-books at The New School: About

Finding Ebooks

1. Search 'Books & More,' the library catalog, using title, author, or publisher keywords. Then refine to "New School Internet Resources"; or

2. Click on "Browse Databases" on the library website. Then select E-books from the 'Database Types' menu for a list of ebook databases.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly e-books that combines ebook databases ebrary and EBL into one platform.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular e-books on a wide range of topics. Most can be downloaded.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available. JSTOR now includes access to the Artstor collection. Artstor is an extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use . Including high-quality images and visual media from top museums, archives, scholars, artists, and contributors around the world.

Request a Purchase

Can't find what you're looking for? We can look into purchasing the ebook for the New School library collections. Most ebooks become available in approximately 1 week.

Request a Purchase

Open Access Ebooks

Directory of Open Access Books
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Project Gutenberg
Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for you to enjoy.

Research Help

Ask Us
Contact a librarian for research help via live chat, text, telephone, or email. For emails, someone will get back to you within 1 working day Monday-Friday.
Request Consultation
The New School Subject Librarians are available to provide personalized 1-on-1 assistance for students, faculty and staff in search strategies, evaluating sources, research methods, developing assignments and more. Schedule an appointment with a Subject Specialist using the Libraries online form.
Subject Librarians
Subject Librarians are available for one-on-one appointments and in-class library instruction, and can create customized library research guides. Users may contact them directly with recommendations or fill out the Request a Purchase form on the library website.
Request a Purchase
If a book, video, periodical or database is not available through the library, use the form to request its acquisition.
The New School Libraries Video Tutorials
Video resources to help you learn how to navigate The New School Libraries and Archives.
Writing Resources
This is a guide to resources that will support you in your academic writing.

Contact Us

SMS/TXT
646.480.6309
with your question.

GENERAL INFORMATION
212.229.5307
libhelp@newschool.edu

ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
212.229.5942
archivist@newschool.edu

E-books at The New School

Finding Ebooks

Request a Purchase

Open Access Ebooks

Research Help

Contact Us

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges