Research Guides: Anthropology: About

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

55 West 13th Street Room 207

hendersh@newschool.edu

646-909-3053

Subjects: Anthropology, Country Studies, Area Studies and Geography, Cultural and Ethnic Studies, Education, Food Studies, Media and Film Studies, Philosophy, Religious Studies

About

This anthropology libguide is intended to help researchers locate helpful sources in anthropology, whether available electronically (databases, e-books, websites) or in print (print books). Books in both formats have been subdivided into two categories: companions/guidebooks/handbooks and dictionaries/encyclopedias and are listed under them, not under the main heading. Databases should be consulted especially for help in finding journal articles, which is what most of them do, although books are a secondary focus. Websites should be used especially to connect with organizations devoted to various subdisciplines of anthropology, and to the main national organization (the American Anthropological Association).

Research Help

Ask Us
Contact a librarian for research help via live chat, text, telephone, or email. For emails, someone will get back to you within 1 working day Monday-Friday.
Request Consultation
The New School Subject Librarians are available to provide personalized 1-on-1 assistance for students, faculty and staff in search strategies, evaluating sources, research methods, developing assignments and more. Schedule an appointment with a Subject Specialist using the Libraries online form.
Subject Librarians
Subject Librarians are available for one-on-one appointments and in-class library instruction, and can create customized library research guides. Users may contact them directly with recommendations or fill out the Request a Purchase form on the library website.
Request a Purchase
If a book, video, periodical or database is not available through the library, use the form to request its acquisition.
Libraries and Archives Video Tutorials
Video resources to help you learn how to navigate The New School Libraries and Archives.
Writing Resources
This is a guide to resources that will support you in your academic writing.

Contact Us

SMS/TXT
646.480.6309
with your question.

GENERAL INFORMATION
212.229.5307
libhelp@newschool.edu

ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
212.229.5942
archivist@newschool.edu

Anthropology

Librarian

About

Research Help

Contact Us

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges