Skip to main content

Researching Activism at The New School

This guide provides suggestions for approaching historical research concerning activism at The New School throughout its history.

Exhibitions, Projects and Publications

We are maintaining this page as a place to list non-archival sources about New School activism. Please send us your suggestions to add to the list.

  • Vera List Center -- This center at The New School features information on its website about past programs, many of which pertain to activism and artistic process. Some Vera List Center publications are available through the New School Archives. However, the records of the Vera List Center are not held by the New School Archives. Please contact the Vera List Center directly to ask about access.

 

  • The New School History Project -- This is a growing website edited by Professors Julia Foulkes and Mark Larrimore dedicated to exploring and interrogating the history of our university. It includes extensive bibliographies and is also host to the Offense and Dissent exhibition's online component. Many of the posts on this site were written by New School students from Professors Foulkes and Larrimore's courses.

 

  • Radical Shifts -- This is an exhibition catalog documenting the transformation of one program at Parsons School of Design over a period of roughly three decades. Radical Shifts includes essays on the emergence of environmental awareness, as well as a personal narrative that touches upon AIDS activism. Other essays explore opportunities and obstacles encountered in mounting archival exhibitions and conducting archival research. Researchers may consult this catalog in the archives by appointment.

 

 

 

 

For researchers unfamiliar with archives, we suggest reviewing our Introduction to Archival Research guide.