- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Search the library catalog to locate specific books and to find call numbers for the individual resources.
For general borrowing guidelines, see library.newschool.edu > Access & Borrowing > What do I have access to?
For more information about borrowing from other academic libraries via our catalog, please check out this page.
Locate e-books using the library catalog by searching using keywords in the title, author, publisher, or ISBN.
To search inside of (the full-text) of e-books, first go to the library website and:
1. Click on "Browse Databases"
2. Select "E-books" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Click on an e-book database and search inside the database. Recommended databases are below.
Searching Google Books is another way to search inside books. To find out whether a book you discover through Google Books is available at The New School Libraries and Archives, copy and paste the title or author into the library catalog.
For additional eBook assistance, please check out our eBook Research Guide.
Design for Sustainability by
With radical and innovative design solutions, everyone could be living in buildings and settlements that are more like gardens than cargo containers, and that purify air and water, generate energy, treat sewage and produce food - at lower cost. Birkeland introduces systems design thinking that cuts across academic and professional boundaries and the divide between social and physical sciences to move towards a transdiciplinary approach to environmental and social problem-solving. This sourcebook is useful for teaching, as each topic within the field of environmental management and social change has pairs of short readings providing diverse perspectives to compare, contrast and debate.Design for Sustainability presents examples of integrated systems design based on ecological principles and concepts and drawn from the foremost designers in the fields of industrial design, materials, housing design, urban planning and transport, landscape and permaculture, and energy and resource management.
Sustainable Building Systems and Construction for Designers by 
Sustainable Design by
Written for students and practitioners in the fields of architecture and interior design, our new Architecture Brief Sustainable Design provides a concise overview of all the techniques available for reducing the energy footprint of structures and spaces. With clear, simple language and a practical "can-do" approach, author David Bergman covers everything from the profession's ethical responsibility, to design structures and spaces that sustain our natural resources, to specific considerations such as rainwater harvesting, graywater recycling, passive heating techniques, solar orientation, green roofs, wind energy, daylighting, indoor air quality, material evaluation and specification, and how to work with green building certification programs.
Sustainable Solutions by
Toughening environmental legislation, national and supra-national environmental product policies and growing customer demands are focusing the attention of companies on the environmental and broader social issues linked to the creation and delivery of their products and services. There is now an urgent need for appropriate management structures, practical tools and increased awareness among all stakeholders in the product development process and throughout the entire product life-cycle. These are huge issues - with major implications for corporate management, design and production strategies. Sustainable Solutions provides state-of-the-art analysis and case studies on why and how cutting-edge companies are developing new products and services to fit "triple-bottom-line" expectations. The book is split into three sections: first, the broad issues of business sustainability are examined with focus on sustainable production and consumption and consideration of North-South issues. Second, the book tackles the major methodologies and approaches toward organising and developing more sustainable products and services. Third, an outstanding collection of global case studies highlights the progress made by a wide range of companies toward dematerialisation, eco-innovation and design for durability. Finally, the book collects together a comprehensive list of web addresses of useful organisations. Practical and comprehensive, Sustainable Solutions will be essential reading for corporate managers, product designers, R&D staff, academics and all individuals interested in a definitive source on how new product and service development can and is contributing toward tacking the challenge of sustainable development.
Sustainable Thinking by
Sustainable Thinking explores how values and sustainability can reshape the way design management is practised and applied. The book discusses how designers can combine innovative creative thinking with analytical problem-solving skills to produce outputs that are business ready and ethically driven.Examples from a wide range of practitioners who work within the field of sustainable design are examined through case studies, and engaging activities suggest ways for students and practitioners to explore introducing sustainable thinking into their work.