Skip to main content

Data Visualization

This research guide will assist you with resources dedicated to data visualization.

Book Recommendations

The New School Libraries & Archives offers a variety of books and eBooks on the topic of data visualization. Some suggested keywords to use when searching our search engine (catalog) include data visualization, visual communication, and information visualization. These books can be found online as eBooks as well as at our University Center Library and our List Center Library

Article Recommendations

A periodical index is a type of library database that is used to locate periodical (magazine, newspaper and journal) articles. Many of these indexes are “full-text,” which means that articles are available to read online. When articles are not full-text, they are sometimes available through other databases that we subscribe to (follow the link in the database search results, or find the article in the catalog using the citation).  

You can either search multiple databases at the same time by searching on subject pages, or you can search individual databases.  We recommend searching individual databases because you can refine to peer-reviewed articles only, sort by date, and download, email, and print articles.

How to Search Library Databases

1. Select a subject page.

  • Who cares about my topic? 
  • What perspective am I interested in pursuing?

Are you researching a multidisciplinary topic?  Try a General Research database.  We recommend ProQuest All Subscribed Content and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).

2.  To identify the best databases for your research topic, search multiple databases on any subject page by entering keywords under the 'Books & More' box on the Library homepage.  On the search results page, limit "results by articles" using the menu on the left side of the page, and see which database produced the best search results.  

3. To search any database individually, click on the name of the database.  Read the database description under the title to learn about the scope and coverage of any database.

4. You can also search the Databases A-Z page for keywords that would appear in a database description.  

5. Ask Us if you need help finding the best database for your research topic. That's what we're here for!

Journal Recommendations