It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Browse Databases A-Z
Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
JSTORJSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available.
ProQuest All Subscribed ContentAll ProQuest databases, ranging from dissertations to newspaper articles to scholarly journals to trade journals to wire services.
Art21 is an online platform for content about contemporary art and artists, and a place to learn first-hand from the artists of our time. Excellent video interviews with artists. A good tool for students and educators in contemporary art.
In response to the rapidly growing need for authoritative content related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), ProQuest is launching a new Coronavirus Research Database, giving all ProQuest users no-cost access to full-text content covering all facets of COVID-19 and related infectious diseases.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
The Current Protocols collection includes over 24,000 step-by-step techniques, procedures, and practical overviews that provide researchers with reliable, efficient methods to ensure reproducible results and pave the way for critical scientific discovery.
Founded in 1971, Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization that is a leading international resource for video and media art. The EAI collection spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is recognized as one of the most comprehensive video art collections in the world.
Textbooks and supplementary resources that support interior design education; includes construction and building systems; drawing, modelling, and CAD; professional practice; principles of color, light, form, and materials; accessibility; sustainability; and history, theory, and criticism.
Offering everything a person needs to know to enter—and thrive—in the fashion industry, Fairchild Books Library provides content that covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.
Harper’s Magazine, America’s oldest general-interest monthly magazine, features articles on political, socio-economic, and cultural issues of national interest, and a monthly index (Harper’s Index) which expresses, in percentage points, American opinion on various issues and percentages of occurrence of actual phenomena (such as deforestation or shoreline loss), or sociopolitical actions (such as percent of Americans aged 18 to 29 who have moved because of the coronavirus).
Health & Fitness Magazine Archive provides full-text and indexing for 6 popular magazines in this field, most notably for Prevention (NY) from its inception in 1950 through 2015*. The other 5 titles are Men’s Fitness (US) (New York) 4/2011-12/2011; Men’s Health (NY) 3/1/1986-12/2015*; Women’s Health (NY) 4/2005-7/2015*; Women’s Health Weekly (Atlanta) 1/5/1995-6/5/2014*; and Zest (London) 9/1/1994-1/2014. (* = with some exceptions)
The largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Indexes working papers, journal articles, books, and more from publishers as well as economics departments, institutes and research centers (including The New School). Organized by Christian Zimmermann at the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.
Men’s Magazine Archive provides full-text and indexing for 5 popular men’s magazines: Sports Illustrated (London) 8/30/1919-4/26/1930; Argosy (New York) 1/1962-11/1978*; Esquire (London) 4/1991-11/2014*; National Police Gazette (New York) 9/5/1846 – 10/1976*; and Sports Budget (London) 1/13/1923-12/22/1928. (*= with some exceptions)
MigrationMapping.org is an online database designed to explore the intersections of media and migration. Its aim is to track, and enable, conversations between media technologies, forms, and practices and evolving scenarios of migration. It curates news items, films, photos, museum exhibitions, mappings, and much more. This database is part of an ongoing research project, and is prepared and maintained by New School professor Dr. Sumita Chakravarty.
MIT Press covers more than 40 ejournals and 3200 ebooks , with 150 ebooks added annually. Subjects emphasized include cognitive science, digital humanities & new media, economics, environment, information science, neuroscience, philosophy, science/technology & society, and social sciences.
This information literacy product was built to help students do more effective scholarly research and to support educators as they teach the core information literacy principles of finding, evaluating, and using information.
Religion and Philosophy Collection is a full-text database dating back to 1911 and covering over 200 journals and magazines (more than 160 peer-reviewed) in theology and philosophy. Includes articles on world religions, political philosophy, moral philosophy, and religious history.
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA) is an open access database providing research resources on South Asia, especially India. Its 22,700+ items include pages from books, census data & other documents, journals & magazines (including women’s magazines from the early 20th century), and newspapers, focusing mainly on caste & social structure, literature, social, political, & economic history, and women & gender. The material is in 13 languages, dominated, in order of frequency, by Bengali, English, Urdu, and Tamil.
An unprecedented digital collection offering access to the runs of more than 100 publications from Archie Comics. It’s one of the longest-running, best-known comic staples, spanning the early 1940s to 2020. Alongside the flagship title, Archie, other prominent titles, which have pervaded wider popular culture, include Sabrina: The Teenage Witch, Josie and the Pussycats, Betty & Veronica, and Jughead.
This database presents a collection of documents related to the impeachments of 4 U.S. Presidents – Andrew Johnson, Richard Nixon, William J. Clinton, and Donald Trump. The material presents the political climate at the time of each impeachment attempt, and the long view history has taken of each proceeding.
Web of Science™ Core Collection provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide—including open access journals—and over 160,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage dating back to 1900. Focus on the essential data from across more than 250 disciplines.
Trial / Expiring Databases
The following are being evaluated for a future subscription or cancellation. Please share your feedback by filling out the Request a Purchase form.
Trial expires 3/5/2021.
The New Play Exchange (NPX) is the world's largest digital library of scripts by living writers. The NPX, a National New Play Network program, is flipping the script on the ways in which new work is shared and discovered. National New Play Network (NNPN) is an alliance of professional theaters that collaborate in innovative ways to develop, produce, and extend the life of new plays.