Browse Databases A-Z

Covers African-American history, culture, and daily life from 1827-1998, with concentration on the 1870s-1930s, as reflected in 282 newspapers from 35 states. Includes considerable rare 19th century material and the following topics of note: the Antebellum South, the Jim Crow era, the Great Migration [from South to North], the Harlem Renaissance, and the Civil Rights movement.

Crucial documents covering the lives of African Americans in the years following the Civil War

The backfile of Artforum, the leading magazine for coverage of international contemporary art, from its launch in 1962 to 2020.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media

Over 200 key titles for the design studio and professional practice

This digital library for global popular music has cross-disciplinary appeal, with relevant content for those interested in “music, ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology.” Its Timeline of Popular Music situates popular music within the historical events of the year in which they were created, with key recordings indicated for each year, from 1900-2016; its Interactive World Map provides articles on popular music from countries and regions all over the world; it also makes available extensive biographical information on artists and musicians, numerous scholarly books on popular music, and volumes from the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World.

BrowZine allows you to browse scholarly journals available from The New School Libraries or from open sources on your tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. This link is leads to the web version.

Fashion news, analysis and advice from the leading digital authority on the global fashion industry. Please note that you must create an account using your New School email address. Once you have created an account, you also need to activate your account via email sent to you by Business of Fashion.

eCommerceDB provides detailed information for 20,000 stores in 50 countries, including detailed revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and interesting KPIs, such as traffic, shipping providers, payment options, social media activity and many more.

Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century

The New York Times is dedicated to helping people understand the world through on-the-ground, expert and deeply reported independent journalism. NYTimes.com includes access to news articles, plus online content such as photo essays, data visualizations, interactive features, and videos. Your account allows you to save articles, subscribe to email newsletters, and select authors, topics, and sections of interest. Full access requires a user account. To register an account, use the link to New York Times Digital Registration.

Visit this page to register a personal account for NYTimes.com using your @newschool.edu email address.

As part of our access to the New York Times online, you also get access to the New York Times in Education. This is a new resource to help educators and students make the most of NYTimes.com. New content and teaching resources are added to this site on a weekly basis by Faculty Contributors from a variety of institutions. Topics include: Arts & Visual Culture, Biology, Business, Economics, Environmental Science, Politics, Psychology, Sociology, and Writing.

nkoda is the world’s largest digital library of sheet music on subscription. With over 100,000 titles from more than 50 leading publishers, nkoda is as relevant for the beginner playing their first notes as for the leader of a symphony orchestra.

Tutorial page - https://tutorials.nkoda.com/how-to-use-nkoda/

This database makes available a CIA-developed English translation of Pravda, the official newspaper of the Communist Party in the USSR, from 1959-1996. It covers the USSR during most of its post-Stalinist period, as well as Russia’s conservative-nationalist opposition in articles published after the USSR dissolved.

An intuitive and comprehensive business library containing millions of full-text items across scholarly and popular periodicals, newspapers, market research reports, dissertations, books, videos and more. Includes company, industry, and country reports from publishers such as Economist Intelligence Unit, Oxford Economics, and JP Morgan.

Vogue Business is an online fashion industry publication launched in January 2019. Headquartered at Condé Nast in London, we offer a truly global perspective on the fashion industry, exploring how cultural trends and global patterns will impact fashion businesses. Harnessing insights from technologists, trend forecasters, futurists and innovators in other sectors, Vogue Business is the leading source of information on how new technologies will shape the way products are developed, marketed and sold.

WGSN Consumer Tech is a consumer technology trend forecasting service that empowers you to design standout technology products that enhance the lives of your future consumers, with unrivalled consumer and lifestyle forecasts and inspiring product design direction, all in one place.

A leading business intelligence, data analytics, and research platform enabling historical analysis and insight into the latest innovations in academic research. WRDS democratizes data access so that all disciplines — Accounting, Banking, Economics, ESG, Finance, Healthcare, Insurance, Marketing, and Statistics — can easily search across the data repository. Access here to request an account, or for advanced users, please email weinraubj@newschool.edu