Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

2020-21 TNS Libraries Updates and Resources

Collection Feedback

We ask that our patrons use the Request a Purchase form on the library website to share their feedback with us. Feedback is also gathered through requests in Course Reserves and the ‘More Access Options’ feature in our Books & More search tool, as well as chat, Ask Us, trials, outreach, and library instruction sessions. Trials and expiring databases are identified and available for review on the Databases A-Z page. 

Improved workflows and library instruction empowers our patrons whether they are novice or experienced researchers. We understand that our patrons’ time is the most essential part of research and these two endeavors ensure that they are able to successfully find, gain access to, and use the information to add to the scholarly conversation.

Please do not hesitate to Ask Us, Request a Purchase, set up a research consultation, and/or get in touch with one of our Subject Librarians! As our services continue to evolve, we look forward to any questions or feedback you may have.

Assessment

We evaluate the collection on an ongoing basis. Our assessment process takes into consideration curricular changes, usage statistics, and what might be available through resource-sharing with our consortia, NYPL, Interlibrary Loan, or free on the open web. We try to make strategic decisions that will serve the most patrons but we rely on user input to identify niche needs. If patrons are not finding the resources they need, they can chat and Ask Us and we’ll help locate the desired content.

Vision and Mission

The Libraries exists to promote a sense of belonging by providing equitable access to information. Our approach to collection management prioritizes access over ownership. Acquisition decisions are primarily driven by the expressed needs of new or existing programs, courses and curriculum, and student, faculty, and staff research. We favor the most universally accessible formats which includes ease of access and cost savings for patrons. 

Our strategic goals are to: 

  • Cultivate new modes of collection development, 
  • Develop strategies for long-term sustainable collection management, 
  • Join patrons anywhere they are,
  • Partner with faculty to ensure access to course content through reserves.

Cooperation

The New School Libraries has chosen the path of partnership and cooperation to utilize our budget efficiently and maximize our patrons’ access to content. We do this in several ways, for instance, by employing cooperative bargaining to negotiate discounts with vendors, participating in ILL for borrowing and lending, arranging visits to other METRO-member libraries for our patrons, and taking into consideration the holdings of other libraries in close proximity, e.g., NYU, Cooper Union, NYPL.

One of our most significant relationships/investments is our membership in PALCI (Pennsylvania Academic Library Consortium, Inc.); NYU is also a member. Through our engagement in PALCI, we have access to E-ZBorrow--expedited Interlibrary Loan (ILL) of print monographs and musical scores among 70 research libraries (over 70 million print volumes)--and are development partners in the next phase of E-ZB, Project ReShare, that will provide digitized copies of other institutions’ print materials within its Controlled Digital Lending (CDL) platform.