Skip to main content

Images for Designers and Art Researchers

Costume and Fashion Images Online Resources

Access: Some of the databases are only accessible when on campus or when signed into MyNewSchool.

Evening Blouse, 1940-45, Elsa Schiaparelli. Rayon, plastic, glass.  From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Gift of Julia B. Henry.
https://www.metmuseum.org/art/collection/search/83179 (accessed September 19, 2018). Accession number: 1978.288.23a–f

Recommended

Forecasting and Retailing

Museums

Historical

Fashion Libraries and Archives

Besides The New School Libraries and Archives, New York City has a wealth of resources for the student of fashion.  Here are just a few:

  • The Gladys Marcus Library at the Fashion Institute of Technology has comprehensive collections related to fashion and costume including the business side of fashion.  Specialized holdings include look books, scrapbooks, archives, illustrations, and vertical files.  A Metro Referral card is required for access and can be obtained from a New School Librarian.
  • The Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art collects books, magazines, and other materials relating to fashion.  Its holdings may be searched in Watsonline and viewed in the Watson Library.  
  • The New York Public Library's Mid-Manhattan Picture Collection is located at 455 Fifth Avenue between 39th and 40th Streets across from Bryant Park. New School students can get a NYPL library card to borrow pictures from the Collection.
  • The Fashion Group International's Slide Archive : Organized by season, year and designer, the Slide Collection begins with 1954 and covers European collections (Couture and Pret-a-Porter) and American collections (designers and mainstream manufacturers). The earliest (50's & 60's) are the rarest and most unique; the latest are this season's!