- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography, 3-Volume Set
by
The Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography explores the vast international scope of twentieth-century photography and explains that history with a wide-ranging, interdisciplinary manner. This unique approach covers the aesthetic history of photography as an evolving art and documentary form, while also recognizing it as a developing technology and cultural force. This Encyclopedia presents the important developments, movements, photographers, photographic institutions, and theoretical aspects of the field along with information about equipment, techniques, and practical applications of photography. To bring this history alive for the reader, the set is illustrated in black and white throughout, and each volume contains a color plate section. A useful glossary of terms is also included.
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
by
The Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography is the first comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth century. It sets out to be the standard, definitive reference work on the subject for years to come. Its coverage is global - an important 'first' in that authorities from all over the world have contributed their expertise and scholarship towards making this a truly comprehensive publication.nbsp;The Encyclopedia presents new and ground-breaking research alongside accounts of the major established figures in the nineteenth century arena. Coverage includes all the key people, processes, equipment, movements, styles, debates and groupings which helped photography develop from being 'a solution in search of a problem' when first invented, to the essential communication tool, creative medium, and recorder of everyday life which it had become by the dawn of thenbsp;twentieth century. The sheer breadth of coverage in the 1200 essays makesnbsp;the Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography an essential reference source for academics, students, researchers and libraries worldwide.
The Focal Encyclopedia of Photography
by
This volume is a complete revision of the 1996 third edition, shares the ever-changing breadth of photographic topics with a special emphasis on digital imaging and contemporary issues. Produced by an international team of photographic and imaging experts with collaboration from the George Eastman House (the world's oldest photography museum), this fourth edition contains essays and photographic reproductions sharing information where photography and imaging serve a primary role, ranging from the atomic to the cosmic.
The Routledge Companion to Global Photographies
by
In response to widespread demand for more knowledge and insight about contemporary photographies beyond Western centers of production and dissemination, this volume provides a transnational discussion, grounded in dialogue between authors and editors from diverse locations and contexts.
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
by
This is the first Oxford Companion to deal with the subject of photography. It appears at a watershed in the medium's history, as digital imaging increasingly dominates the global photography scene at both amateur and professional levels. In addition to a wide range of technical information,the book encapsulates in concise and readily accessible form the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice, organized both thematically and geographically. There are over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on other individuals who have significantlyinfluenced photographic culture from the early 19th century to the present. The book's scope is worldwide.The international team of contributors is made up of leading authorities in their fields, and include: Heather Angel, Sylvie Aubenas, Quentin Bajac, Marta Braun, Clement Cheroux, Elizabeth Edwards, John Falconer, Colin Ford, Ron Graham, Sarah Greenough, Mark Haworth-Booth, Roger Hicks, Paul Hill,Jens Jaeger, Jan-Erik Lundstrom, Naomi Rosenblum, Rolf Sachsse, Martha Sandweiss, Graham Saxby, Joan Schwartz, Sara Stevenson, Roger Taylor, Regine Thiriez, John Ward, Liz Wells, and Mike Ware.The book is extensively illustrated and includes many pictures never before published. The majority of the 1600-plus entries include suggestions for further reading. But the work's usefulness is further enhanced by the inclusion of an extensive bibliography, a chronology of photographic history, alist of important websites, and an index of people.
As We See It
by
In As We See It, Suzanne Newman Fricke invites readers to explore the work and careers of ten contemporary Native American photographers: Jamison Banks, Anna Hoover, Tom Jones, Larry McNeil, Shelley Niro, Wendy Red Star, Beverly Singer, Matika Wilber, William Wilson, and Tiffiney Yazzie. Inspired by As We See It, an exhibition of these artists' work cocurated by Fricke in 2015, the book showcases the extraordinary achievements of these groundbreaking photographers. As We See It presents dialogues in which the artists share their unique perspectives about the history and current state of photography. Each chapter includes an overview of the photographer's career as well as examples of the artist's work. For added context, Fricke includes an introduction, a preface that explores the original exhibition of the same name, and an essay that challenges the ghost of Edward S. Curtis, whose work serves as a counterpoint to the photography of contemporary Native Americans. The text is designed to be read as a whole or in sections for anyone teaching Native American photography. As We See It is an invaluable addition to the library of anyone interested in Native American photography and will be the key source for teachers, researchers, and lovers of photography for years to come.
Black Photographers, 1940-1980
by
First published in 1989. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
International Photography: George Eastman House Index to Photographers, collections, and exhibits
by
This 3-vol. work constitutes a vastly enlarged and expanded new edition of the Index to American Photographic Collections, 3rd enlarged edition, differing from the previous editions in two important respects. First is the inclusion of holdings from outside the United States, a natural evolution in our shrinking world. The second is the inclusion of exhibition histories, cross-referenced by photographer and sponsoring institution, providing a useful new context for evaluating less well-known photographers.
Photographers Encyclopedia International, 1839 to the Present
by
Women Photograph: What We See
by
Open your eyes to a new world view with 100 women and nonbinary photojournalists' stories from behind the lens. *Winner of the 2023 Bronze Foreword INDIE Book Award* 85% of photojournalists are men. That means almost everything that is reported in the world is seen through men's eyes. Similarly, spaces and communities men don't have access to are left undocumented and forgotten. With the camera limited to the hands of one gender, photographic 'truth' is more subjective than it seems. To answer this serious ethical problem, Women Photograph flips that bias on its head to show what and how women and nonbinary photojournalists see. From documenting major events such as 9/11 to capturing unseen and misrepresented communities, this book presents a revisionist contemporary history: pore over 50 years of women's dispatches in 100 photographs. Each image is accompanied by 200 words from the photographer about the experience and the subject, offering fresh insights and a much-needed perspective. Until we have balanced, representative reporting, the camera cannot offer a mirror to our global society. To get the full picture, we need a diverse range of people behind the lens. This book offers a first step. Relearn how to see with this evergreen catalogue that elevates the voices of women and nonbinary visual storytellers.
Photography
by
For courses in Photography The most comprehensive, up-to-date resource for today's photography students Photography helps students learn how to make photographs, how to control photographic processes, and how different photographers employ them for their own creative purposes. As with each edition of this hallmark text, authors Barbara London, Jim Stone, and John Upton provide comprehensive yet practical coverage of both the traditional practice of photography and the now-dominant contemporary digital techniques. Integrating material on chemical and digital processes throughout, the Twelfth Edition offers fully up-to-date coverage of digital techniques, equipment, and workflow.
IPhone Photography for Everybody
by
We all take quick shots of the world around us--but shooting truly exceptional images with your iPhone requires a little more care. It forces you to slow down, observe the moment more deeply, and apply your artistic eye to capturing the true essence of the scene before you. Happily, the iPhone's limited controls actually make it an idea tool for delving into this process because it requires you to strip down your approach to the fundamentals and rely on what has always been the best part of the image making process: the human mind. In this book, you'll learn to use a camera phone and apps to make far more interesting photographs. Along with some technical information, experienced professional photojournalist Michael Fagans has included insightful information about his mind-set when shooting, his approach to composition, and how he handles other creative aspects of the photography process.
Jill Enfield's Guide to Photographic Alternative Processes
by
Jill Enfield's Guide to Photographic Alternative Processes, 2nd edition, is packed with stunning imagery, how-to recipes, techniques and historical information for emulating the ethereal, dream-like feel of alternative processing. This fully updated edition covers alternative processing from its historical roots through to digital manipulation and contemporary techniques and how to combine them. It features several new techniques alongside new approaches to older techniques, including hand painting on silver gelatin prints, ceramics and photography, cyanotypes, wet plate collodion, digital prints and many more. Enfield showcases the different styles and methods of contemporary artists together with suggestions for vegan and vegetarian friendly alternative processing, transforming 2D images to 3D installations, and how to apply darkroom techniques to digital captures. Professionals, students and hobbyists will discover how to bring new life and imagination to their imagery. Whether in a darkroom using traditional chemicals, at the kitchen sink with pantry staples, or in front of the computer re-creating techniques digitally, you will learn how to add a richness and depth to your photography like never before.
