Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Strategic Design and Management Research Guide

A guide to management and design library resources at The New School.

Books/eBooks

Design and Management is an interdisciplinary field.  Therefore, you can find relevant books at any of The New School's libraries

Search the catalog to locate specific books and to find call numbers for browsing.

Subjects at the University Center Library:
Design NK
Fashion Industry TT 496

Subjects at List Center Library:
Advertising HF 5811-5839
Business Law : HF
Economics : HB
Ethics : HF
Fashion Industry HD 9940
Financial Management : HG
Management and Strategy : HD
Marketing HF 5415
Mathematics and Statistics : QA
Merchandising, Display HF 5845
Retailing HD 5429-5465

Locate e-books using the library catalog by searching using keywords in the title, author, publisher, or ISBN.    

To search inside of (the full-text) of e-books, first go to the library website and:

1.  Click on "Browse Databases"
2.  Select "E-books" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3.  Click on an e-book database and search inside the database.  Recommended databases are below.

For more information about our E-books, see our E-books Research Guide.

Reference sources such as an encyclopedias and dictionaries are used in the beginning stages of research.  These sources provide context, and list books and articles that can be consulted for further reading.  Go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Browse Databases"
2. Select "Encyclopedia" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Select a database.  Recommended databases are below.

There are also specialized encyclopedias for subjects such as art and music.  Find these by selecting a subject in the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the library databases page.