Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art and Visual Culture

A guide to print and electronic resources available at The New School Libraries and Archives.

Lang Arts

In this orientation, we will take a tour of library resources and services together. Today's lesson:

  1. Go to the library website at library.newschool.edu 
  2. Note the link in the banner to the library updates guide.
  3. Search the library catalog (Books & More) to find books, articles, and more on your topic.
    - Example keywords: thelma golden
    - Note that this is not a full-text search.  
    - Filter to books only: Resource Types -> Books.  
  4. Filter to physical books. Availability ->Physical Items in Consortium
  5. - Click on Login to request a book.
  6. Scroll up on search results page and note the "E-ZBorrow" button.
  7. Now go back to the library website https://library.newschool.edu/
  8. Click on Browse Databases and click on "Art." 
  9. Please note this is one place where you can find a link to EAI.
  10. Select Art & Architecture Source.
  11. Search using our example keywords: whitney biennial and refine Published Date to 1993
  12. View full text, search for full text in other databases, request from library periodical holdings, request InterLibrary Loan, or Ask Us
  13. Next, we will create an account in RefWorks, a citation management system.
  14. Click on "Cite this item" then "Export to RefWorks"
  15. Then click on "Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks"
  16. Click on "No account? - Sign up here"  We will all create a RefWorks account. Please check your Spam folder if you don't get the verification email.
  17. Now we will complete exporting the citation to RefWorks.  Return to JSTOR and click on "Export to RefWorks" 
  18. Highlight the citation to view details on the right. You can edit the fields, if necessary. 
  19. To create a bibliography in any citation style, click on the checkboxes to the left of the references. Then go to "Create bibliography"  and select "Create bibliography."
  20. You can change your citation style using the drop-down menu.  (Recommended: Chicago 17th Edition (Notes & Bibliography)

Need help? Request a 1-on-1 Consultation or Ask Us!   Consult our Art Research Guide and Youtube playlist.

In this orientation, we will take a tour of library resources and services together. Today's lesson:

  1. Go to the library website at library.newschool.edu 
  2. Note the link in the banner to the library updates guide.
  3. Search the library catalog (Books & More) to find books, articles, and more on your topic.
    - Example keywords: art protest
    - Note that this is not a full-text search.  
    - Filter to books only: Resource Types -> Books.  
  4. Filter to physical books. Availability ->Physical Items in Consortium
  5. Click on Login to request a book.
  6. Scroll up on search results page and note the "E-ZBorrow" button.
  7. Now go back to the library website https://library.newschool.edu/
  8. Click on Browse Databases and click on "Art." 
  9. Select ARTbibliographies Modern.
  10. Search using our example keywords: art protest
  11. For books: search in library catalog
  12. For articles: View full text, search for full text in other databases, request from library periodical holdings, request InterLibrary Loan, or Ask Us
  13. Next, we will create an account in RefWorks, a citation management system.
  14. Click on "Cite this item" then "Export to RefWorks"
  15. Then click on "Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks"
  16. Click on "No account? - Sign up here"  We will all create a RefWorks account. Please check your Spam folder if you don't get the verification email.
  17. Now we will complete exporting the citation to RefWorks.  Return to JSTOR and click on "Export to RefWorks" 
  18. Highlight the citation to view details on the right. You can edit the fields, if necessary. 
  19. To create a bibliography in any citation style, click on the checkboxes to the left of the references. Then go to "Create bibliography"  and select "Create bibliography."
  20. You can change your citation style using the drop-down menu.  (Recommended: Chicago 17th Edition (Notes & Bibliography)

Need help? Request a 1-on-1 Consultation or Ask Us!   Consult our Art Research Guide and Youtube playlist.

Recommended Resources