Skip to main content

Fashion Design Collections in the Kellen Design Archives

An overview of materials available for researchers interested in exploring the history of fashion using the Kellen Design Archives.

Helpful Search Tips

If you are searching in a library catalog for archival collections about fashion merchandising or marketing, try using the following terms:

Advertising -- Fashion

Display designers

Display of merchandise

Fashion -- Forecasting

Fashion merchandising (use instead of fashion marketing)

Fashion photographs

Fashion shows

Show windows

From the Saks Fifth Avenue fashion publicity collection

Fashion Marketing, Merchandising, and Publicity Collections

The workbook was used during the Amos Parrish Fashion Merchandising Clinic, held in New York City, January 6-10, 1930. It belonged to Howard Phillips, merchandise manager for the Ernst Kern Department Store, Detroit, Michigan, and has been heavily annotated by Phillips during his week at Parrish's clinic. The Amos Parrish Fashion Merchandising Clinic was offered once and sometimes twice annually from the 1920s through 1955 to forecast the year's trends for the fashion industry.

Dan Arje (1923-1993) was a designer and display director for Bonwit Teller. The collection is primarily comprised of albums containing photographs and news clippings about Arje's displays, as well as correspondence regarding his decorating work for the White House during the Kennedy and Johnson administrations, including the decoration of the White House Christmas tree. Also present are materials Arje collected about Bonwit Teller and Tiffany's designer Gene Moore.

The collection consists of sixty-five publicity photographs for clothing designed by Bonnie Cashin for Philip Sills & Co., circa 1967-1968.

Contains printed and moving image publicity materials produced for late 20th century fashion designers. Predominant designers include: Calvin Klein, Donna Karan (DKNY), Joseph Abboud, Pierre Balmain, Ralph Lauren, and Tommy Hilfiger. Also contains printed materials produced for Parsons' alumni Anna Sui, Badgley Mischka, Isaac Mizrahi, Marc Jacobs, Narcisco Rodriguez, Peter Speliopoulus, and Bruce (Daphne Gutierrez and Nicole Noselli).

Consists of 19 scrapbooks containing more than 10,000 prints of fashion illustrations produced between 1805 and 1913. The prints primarily depict men's, women's, and children's clothing and accessories, with a small number of images depicting theatrical costumes, architectural and sculptural details, and textile designs. One scrapbook contains swatches of French and Asian textiles. Many of the images were issued originally as portfolio prints, others cut from books and periodicals, such as Graham's Magazine and Godey's Lady's Book and Magazine. The majority of the earlier prints are French.

Saks Fifth Avenue compiled this collection of over 1,000 slides depicting fashion runway shows during the 1990s. The 35 mm slides depict haute couture and ready-to-wear collections from an international array of fashion designers and houses, including Oscar de la Renta, Donna Karan, Issey Miyake, Rifat Ozbek, Max Mara, Yves Saint-Laurent, Versace, and Vivienne Westwood. Dan and Corina Lecca, Chris Moore, and Dino Scrimali are some of the photographers whose work is represented in the collection.

Robert Galster (1923-1991) and Gilbert Ireland (1924-2015) were designers and alumni of Parsons School of Design. Galster worked as freelance illustrator and designer. Ireland designed window displays for Bergdorf Goodman for over forty years. The collection consists primarily of Galster's work and includes examples of his designs for books, album covers, and theater posters. Ireland's work is represented in photographs of the windows he designed. The collection also contains student work by both as well as pieces by other designers including Lloyd Evans and Parsons alumnus Roy Little.

The collection consists of showroom books for the Givenchy Nouvelle Boutique of New York City, 1972-1974. The showroom books include price lists, garment sketch reproductions, and fabric swatches.

Manuscript created by Parsons instructor Estelle Hamburger for the book, Fashion Business: It’s All Yours (Canfield Press, 1976).

After graduating from Parsons in 1945, Margaret Hodge became director of fashion marketing at Vogue, and in 1967 established her own fashion publicity business. Hodge led multiple marketing campaigns, tying clothing lines to the style and fashion of Hollywood films. The collection largely consists of examples of promotional material from Hollywood films, including publicity, set and costume design photographs, press kits, event announcements and tear sheets. The bulk of the material was produced between 1962 and 1976.

Collection consists of English-language lookbooks and other printed promotional materials for Japanese fashion label Issey Miyake, Inc., produced largely between 2014 and 2016

Laura Johnson (died 2002) was a New York City socialite and wife of Saks Fifth Avenue executive F. Raymond Johnson. The collection is primarily comprised of photographic prints and press clippings documenting her extensive wardrobe of couture clothing and active social life between the 1950s and late 1990s.

The collection consists of thirteen video recordings documenting Mary Ann Restivo, Inc. fashion shows spanning the 1980s into Fall 1990.

Consists of eight issues of a magazine produced for the staff and associates of Saks Fifth Avenue. There are four issues of Saks News, 1952-1953; and four issues of  Saks Fifth Avenue News, 1969, 1974, 1976. The 1969 issue honors Adam Gimbel, long-time President of Saks, upon his retirement.

The collection is comprised of 75 binders of fashion photographs promoting Saks’ clothing lines, including Sophie Gimbel Originals, ready-to-wear, and custom collections from 1954-1967.  These photographs and reproductions of fashion sketch sheets display the development and progression of Saks designers’ collections.