Skip to main content

Fashion Design Collections in the Kellen Design Archives

An overview of materials available for researchers interested in exploring the history of fashion using the Kellen Design Archives.

Sound recordings

The Kellen Design Archives holds oral history interviews with Frank Rizzo, a longtime faculty member and former chair of the Parsons School of Design Fashion Design Department and with Alan Gussow, a fashion illustration faculty member. Listen to recordings and access transcripts for the Parsons School of Design Centenary Oral History Project online through our Digital Collections site.

We also have digitized recordings of critic directions from 1994-1995 and a Fashion Focus lecture series from 1984-1985, which will be published online shortly.

From the Fashion Design Department records

Collections and records related to Parsons' educational programs

Jacki Apple is a designer, artist, professor, and alumna of Parsons School of Design. She studied fashion illustration and graphic design at Parsons from 1960-1963 and went on to work for many years as a fashion designer in New York City. This collection consists of ten fashion illustrations Apple made at Parsons, likely in a fashion illustration course she took her first year at Parsons with Irene S. Frangides.

Robert Carreon produced the drawings in this collection as part of his coursework at Parsons School of Design from 1966 until 1968, with the exception of eight drawings from his admissions portfolio and a drawing of a dress and cape that Carreon created for his sister's winter wedding while he was enrolled at Parsons.

The Margaret Susan Daniell papers consist of biographical materials, a student notebook and drawings from her education at Parsons School of Design in the late 1920s, and two photographs. Daniell (1907-1998) studied fashion design at Parsons and later worked at Paramount Studios.

Fiona Walker Dieffenbacher is a fashion designer, author, and alumna of Parsons School of Design, as well as a full-time faculty member and director of the BFA Fashion Design program. The collection is comprised of student project notebooks and portfolios maintained by Dieffenbacher while she was a Fashion Design BFA student at Parsons School of Design in the early 1990s and examples of visual aids created by Dieffenbacher as a professor, as well as student work produced in classes she taught in the 2000s.

Consists of a student notebook created by Alison Smith when she was a fashion design and fashion illustration student at Parsons School of Design. Includes garment and color analyses, book reports, fashion illustrations, and magazine cut-outs of fashion models and advertising elements.

Student work and a syllabus from two fashion design courses Patrick Michael Hughes taught at Parsons School of Design between 2007 and 2010. The courses, History, Culture, Society and Themes in Men's Fashion are repesented through notebooks, drawings, and papers. Additionally, the collection includes an independent study project based on the men's suit and a project created in a class taught by Hughes's colleague, Lisa SantaAndrea.

Margaret Louise Lange's notebook, produced while a student of Costume Design and Illustration at Parsons, 1938-1939, includes lecture notes, sketches, color studies and fashion clippings. The entire notebook has been digitized and is available online through the Digital Collections database: https://digitalarchives.library.newschool.edu/index.php/Detail/collections/KA0050

Francesca Sammaritano is a fashion designer and alumna of Parsons School of Design, as well as a full-time faculty member. The collection is comprised of two student project notebooks maintained by Sammaritano while she was a Fashion BFA student at Parsons School of Design in the late 1980s and two examples of student work created in classes Sammaritano taught as a professor.

Includes 1,400 photographs, contact sheets, and negatives documenting Parsons student and campus life, including exhibitions, award and fashion shows, guest lectures, field trips, and campus construction projects. An in-house inventory is available upon request. These records contain many photographs of fashion shows, visiting critics and lecturers in the Fashion Design Department, and photographs of fashion students and their work.

Parsons School of Design Alumni Association was incorporated in 1952 and continued until Parsons School of Design merged into the New School for Social Research in 1970. Records contains correspondence, financial records, minutes, photographic materials, printed materials, scrapbooks of clippings, and subject files. Also includes documents generated by earlier alumni associations that the Alumni Association incorporated into its working files. These records contain numerous photographs of fashion shows, fashion designers, and the Fashion Design Department, including visiting  designers.

Contains the records of the Fashion Design Department of Parsons The New School for Design. Departmental records include course syllabi and descriptions, materials pertaining to the annual fashion show, scrapbooks, and student work.

This collection is comprised of audiovisual recordings primarily commissioned by Parsons School of Design. Most of the recordings are of the Parsons Fashion Design Department's annual scholarship benefit and runway show. Also included in the collection are recordings of junior year presentations, promotional films about Parsons, and a propaganda film created by United States Information Agency featuring a Parsons fashion student.

Consists of thousands of slides (primarily 1970s through the '90s) documenting Parsons student and campus life, including exhibitions, award and fashion shows, guest lectures, field trips, and campus construction projects. Approximately one third of the slides represent the Fashion Design Department-related activities.