Philosophy

The Revised Oxford Translation of The Complete Works of Aristotle, edited by Jonathan Barnes, and published by Princeton University Press in 1984.

This database provides full text works by the following philosophers: Francis Bacon, Thomas Hobbes, British Moralists (Selections), Anne Conway, John Locke, Bishop George Berkeley, David Hume, Adam Smith, Edmund Burke, David Ricardo, Jeremy Bentham, John Stuart Mill, and Henry Sidgwick.

Full text of works by René Descartes, Baruch Spinoza, and Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz.

This edition of G. W. F. Hegel: The Oxford University Press Translations is based on all Hegel translations published by Oxford University Press.

This database of Kant’s collected writings covers the first 23 volumes of the Akademie-Ausgabe (2nd ed., 1999), plus a few additional letters. These 23 volumes are organized into three sections: Works (vols. 1-9); Letters (from 1747-1804)(vols. 10-13); and Nachlass ( the papers and drafts – including the influential Opus Postumum – left at his death in 1804) (vols.14-23).

The second edition of Søren Kierkegaard's Journals and Papers was created from the first edition (edited and translated by Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong, Bloomington and London: Indiana University Press, 1967) by altering the translation using all changes found in the appendices of the Princeton University Press edition of Kierkegaard's Writings (translated by Howard V. Hong and Edna H. Hong).

This 520+ volume database focuses on Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations. Its wide scope includes literature, drama, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medicine, math, and religious writings of some early Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.

Plotinus (c.204/5-270) was a major Hellenistic philosopher who lived in Roman Egypt. He is one of the most influential philosophers in antiquity after Plato and Aristotle. His writings, compiled in the Six Enneads, were edited and compiled by his student Porphyry (c. AD 270). The translation by Stephen McKenna is well-known for its poetic style and beauty.

The Collected Works of Ludwig Wittgenstein contains all translations of Wittgenstein published by Blackwell Publishers (as well as The Blue and Brown Books).