Research Guides: Biographical Research: Databases

Databases

Many of these indexes are “full-text,” which means the article is available to read online. They are mult-source, however, meaning they contain magazines and newspapers along with scholarly literature.

These resources can be accessed through My New School under the “Library” tab, or through the Search Electronic Resources and Databases link on the library’s website. Databases can only be accessed through "My New School" when off campus.

It would be useful to search for the person you're interested in by searching the "subject" field.

GENERAL, MULTI-DISCIPLINARY, MULTI-SOURCE INDEXES

General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together many of our most used databases to create the most comprehensive, diverse, and relevant multidisciplinary research database available. It provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform.

Biographical Research

Databases

GENERAL, MULTI-DISCIPLINARY, MULTI-SOURCE INDEXES

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges