EDITED was one of the first companies to use data science and artificial intelligence to help fashion retailers make better decisions based on real-time information about purchases, discounts, and promotions with data gathered from the ecommerce sites. The EDITED blog is full of useful information about how to use data to make wise stocking, pricing, and promotions choices.
Fashion Snoops will delivery multiple newsletters to your inbox every week. The FS Newsletters include the T5T (Top five Tuesday), Beauty Bulletin, and FS Reports, the later being a teaser for FS full-service trend forecast predictions. Subscribe to the newsletters here. Access: http://www.fs-admin.com/flash/fsdemo54.aspx. The Fashion Snoops Vimeo channel hosts archived webinars and season overviews.
"We are a New York-based network and support system for professionals working in the fields of fashion studies including archiving, curating, conservation, design and research that fosters collaboration, growth, support and the development of individuals and the community."
"The green supply chain map is a leadership initiative dedicated to showcasing brands’ commitment to supply chain transparency and environmental management. It openly links brands' supplier lists to publicly-available environmental data, including real-time data for air emissions and wastewater discharge. Brands that voluntarily join the map demonstrate leadership by going transparent toward their concrete actions to monitor and improve environmental performance. The map creates a channel for these brands’ suppliers to publicly verify their environmental compliance. At the same time, it also allows consumers to incorporate brands’ efforts to minimize supply chain environmental impacts into purchasing decisions. Map users can filter by brand to view and understand individual companies’ supply chains, or can also filter to see the types of data that each facility discloses, including real-time emissions data, feedback about corrective actions to improve environmental performance, and annual pollutant emissions and resource usage data. The map is bilingual, featuring both English and Chinese versions, and also includes a search bar to check supplier name keywords." - IPE.org
MDS is an economic newspaper specialized on the fashion business on a global basis, a new media source born in 2018 with the aim of providing the best information needed by professionals in this industry.
StyleSage came on the retail analytics scene in 2013 and offers similar services and technology as EDITED, plus it has a new visual search that works across its data array of international store stock. Its blog is also contains insights on data driven decisions in fashion retail. Readers who are just learning about data science in retail will appreciate the clear subject categories in the navigation menu.
One of the most sought after trend forecasters in the world is Lidewij Edelkoort, whose Trend Union consulting and trend forecasting business is used by many top names in the fashion design industry. Fortunately for all of us, she is willing to share some of her insights for free through her TrendTablet website, which she describes as a tool that “explains how trends grow, and flow.”
The American Apparel and Footwear Association was formed in 2000 by the union of two of the oldest professional organizations in the United States, the American Apparel and Manufacturers Association and Footwear Industries of America. Useful information for students and faculty who register for free includes access to AAFA news, open-industry webinars, and limited access to research tools, including the Made in America directory and the Restricted Substances List.
AAPN began in 1981 as an association of U.S. apparel factories, spread to the Americas in 2001, and now has membership worldwide from all sectors of the apparel supply chain, “from dirt to shirt.” Everything on the AAPN website is freely available to nonmembers, with best bets being the AAPN member directory for sourcing, the AAPN blog, and the events calendar.
CFDA is definitely the most glamorous of the organizations on this list. The CFDA website provides access to biographical information on its many famous members, a directory of New York- and Los Angeles-based garment and jewelry manufacturers, and access to industry news and events information.
The most scholarly of the professional organizations on this list, ITAA serves as an accrediting agency for colleges and universities with textile and apparel programs through its TAPAC programs. Free content from the ITAA site includes the ITAA newsletter, selected monographs, and conference proceedings from the ITAA Annual conference.