Research Guides: Dance: Resources for Research

Searching for Dance Resources at the New School

This page will show you how to locate books about dance in the library's catalog, give you direct links to the best databases we have available for journal articles about dance, and make you aware of some useful reference sources.

Find Books

The New School Libraries and Archives holds hundreds of books about dance. They fall within the call number range of GV1580 to GV1799 and are shelved at the Performing Arts Library in Arnhold Hall, 55 West 13th Street, on the ninth floor.

Dance books in the library catalog
This link will pull up a list of books in the library catalog that have the word "dance" in their subject heading and are at the New School . This is several hundred titles, so be prepared to spend some time browsing or to add some keywords of your own choosing to the search boxes at the top of the list!

Find Articles

Here are just a few of the databases that you may use to search for dance-related articles.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) is a comprehensive guide to the journal literature on performing arts--drama, theater, dance, film, television, and more--searchable together for the first time in one electronic database.
Sports Medicine & Education Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides specialized resources in the field of physical education. Through scholarly and trade literature, the database covers a wide range of topics, ranging from physical and health education to fitness and recreation and the business of sports, as well as kinesiology, physical therapy, motor learning, and sport sociology and psychology.

Reference

American Ballet Theater's Online Ballet Dictionary
Ballet terms demonstrated in brief video clips by some of the best dancers in the world!

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Dance Perspectives Staff; Selma Jeanne Cohen (Editor)
Call Number: GV1585 .I586 2004
ISBN: 0195173694
Publication Date: 2004-12-23
Located in the reference collection of the Performing Arts Library (Arnhold Hall, 2nd floor Reading Room), this is a great starting point for research on a wide variety of dance-related topics.

Dance

Searching for Dance Resources at the New School

Find Books

Find Articles

Reference

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges