Research Guides: Copyright & Fair Use For Faculty: About

Contact Us

A number of support services exist, including:

Email us at libhelp@newschool.edu
Learn more About Reserves
For legal guidance contact General Counsel's Office

About

This guide provides a basic introduction to the concepts of copyright and fair use.

Faculty and students should consider the rights of others when using material in their courses. They should also consider their responsibilities when deciding to use that material in various educational contexts.

The University Libraries and Archives makes every effort to provide accurate information. It is not meant to be a substitute for legal advice, but a prompt to ask questions about how to ethically use material in classes. If you are in a rights dispute or have a question about whether your intended use is legal, please consult a lawyer.

Research Help

Ask Us
Contact a librarian for research help via live chat, text, telephone, or email. For emails, someone will get back to you within 1 working day Monday-Friday.
Request Consultation
The New School Subject Librarians are available to provide personalized 1-on-1 assistance for students, faculty and staff in search strategies, evaluating sources, research methods, developing assignments and more. Schedule an appointment with a Subject Specialist using the Libraries online form.
Subject Librarians
Subject Librarians are available for one-on-one appointments and in-class library instruction, and can create customized library research guides. Users may contact them directly with recommendations or fill out the Request a Purchase form on the library website.
Request a Purchase
If a book, video, periodical or database is not available through the library, use the form to request its acquisition.
Libraries and Archives Video Tutorials
Video resources to help you learn how to navigate The New School Libraries and Archives.
Writing Resources
This is a guide to resources that will support you in your academic writing.

Contact Us

SMS/TXT
646.480.6309
with your question.

GENERAL INFORMATION
212.229.5307
libhelp@newschool.edu

ARCHIVES & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
212.229.5942
archivist@newschool.edu

Copyright & Fair Use For Faculty

Contact Us

A number of support services exist, including:

About

This guide provides a basic introduction to the concepts of copyright and fair use.

Research Help

Contact Us

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges