Research Guides: Lang Library Orientation Student Guide: E-Books

Encyclopedias

Reference sources such as an encyclopedias and dictionaries are used in the beginning stages of research. These sources provide context, and list books and articles that can be consulted for further reading. Go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Browse Databases"
2. Select "Encyclopedia" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Select a database. Recommended databases are below.

There are also specialized encyclopedias for subjects such as art and music. Find these by selecting a subject in the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the library databases page.

Credo Reference Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference helps you start your research with 800+ full-text reference resources, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, subject handbooks, image collections, and videos, on a user-friendly online platform.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) is a database for multidisciplinary research in encyclopedias and general and specialized reference sources in the Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, Social Science, and Technology.

E-books

Locate e-books using the library catalog by searching using keywords in the title, author, publisher, or ISBN.

To search inside of (the full-text) of e-books, first go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Browse Databases"
2. Select "E-books" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Click on an e-book database and search inside the database. Recommended databases are below.

Ebook Central
An exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly e-books that combines ebook databases ebrary and EBL into one platform.

EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular e-books on a wide range of topics. Most can be downloaded.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available. JSTOR now includes access to the Artstor collection. Artstor is an extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use . Including high-quality images and visual media from top museums, archives, scholars, artists, and contributors around the world.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
The leading source of information for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design, Bloomsbury Architecture Library offers access to a carefully curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content.

For more information about our E-books, see our E-books Research Guide.

Search Inside with Google Books

Searching Google Books is another way to search inside books. To find out whether a book you discover through Google Books is available at The New School Libraries and Archives, copy and paste the title or author into the library catalog.

Lang Library Orientation Student Guide

Encyclopedias

E-books

Search Inside with Google Books

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges