Skip to main content

How do I access the New School Archives and Special Collections, including the Kellen Design Archives?

This guide explains everything researchers need to know about accessing the New School Archives and Special Collections.

About

This guide explains how to access collections in the New School Archives and Special Collections, which includes the Kellen Design Archives and the archives of the College of Performing Arts (Mannes College of Music, School of Drama, School of Jazz and Contemporary Music).

Student research

Basic Info

An appointment is required to access the New School Archives and Special Collections. Please contact us to make an appointment, or to ask a question.

  1. You can call us at 212-229-5942.
  2. You can e-mail us at archivist@newschool.edu.

Please be aware that we may not be able to respond to your request immediately, but we do reply to all requests. If you do not receive a reply from us within two business days, please follow up.

 

Appointment Basics

All collections must be used in the New School Archives, located at 66 Fifth Avenue. We are open to researchers Monday through Friday, typically from 10 am until 5 pm.

The collections may not be checked out, like in a library.

Only two researchers are permitted at a time due to space limitations. However, group research is permitted if group members are using the same collection.

If you are a New School faculty member and would like to use the Archives' collections for a course, please contact us.