- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
New York City boasts a good number of local neighborhood newspapers. Use them to see what some local issues and events are and to learn more about local players, such as community organizations, politicians and businesses.
•Many of these sites include searchable Archives
City Limits "City Limits uses investigative journalism ... to identify urban problems..." City-wide coverage
Daily, in print and online - coverage includes politics and policies, business and neighborhood news
El Diario La Prensa Spanish language newspaper with city-wide coverage
Gay City News local news covering the West Village, Chelsea and the Meat Packing District
Our Town has an Upper West Side, Upper East Side and Downtown section (under Neighborhoods)
New York Amsterdam News one of the oldest African American newspapers - covers local news from an ethnic perspective
The NYC Planning site of the Department of City Planning provides a statistical District Profile, Data Resources and Projects/Proposals for each of the Community Districts in the five boroughs of NYC. Includes data from the 2010 census and from selected years of the American Community Survey, where available.
Published by the NYC Department of City Planning
You will also find: Zoning and Planning data, Flood Hazard Mapper, New Housing Developments, Geographic Onlince Address Translator, and much more.
Community District Profiles: https://communityprofiles.planning.nyc.gov/ Census and American Community Survey (ACS) data, maps, Community Board reports and more for each NYC Community District.
The NYC Population Factfinder provides easy access to U. S. Census Bureau population information for New York City.
•Use the Select tool on the Interactive Map to choose a Census Tract or Neighborhood Tabulation Area.
•About NYC Population Factfinder: data sources, geographies, special features: https://popfactfinder.planning.nyc.gov/about
Data portal to data collected and reported by NYC agencies. More than 1350 datasets are available free for public use.
More information in the publication Open Data for All
The Center, among other NYC urban studies and policy initiatives, presents essential data and analysis about the state of New York City’s housing and neighborhoods to those involved in land use, real estate development, community economic development, housing, urban economics, and urban policy. Go to the Coredata NYC section and select Neighborhood Profiles for neighborhood data and information.