It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to print and electronic resources available at The New School Libraries.
Search the library catalog (Books & More) to find books, articles, and more on your topic.
- Example keywords: architecture capitalism
- Note that this is not a full-text search.
- Filter to books only: Resource Types -> Books.
Review results for relevancy (title, subject headings, table of contents).
Filter to ebooks only. Library (New School) -> New School Internet Resources
Filter to physical books. Availability ->Physical Items in Consortium
- Click on Login to request a book.
Now go back to the library website https://library.newschool.edu/
Click on "Browse Databases" to go to the portal to all of our online resources.
See the Popular Databases section.
Enter the JSTOR database.
Search using our example keywords: architecture capitalism
Review results for relevancy (title, subject headings, abstract)
Next, we will create an account in RefWorks, a citation management system.
Click on "Cite this item" then "Export to RefWorks"
Then click on "Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks"
Click on "No account? - Sign up here" We will all create a RefWorks account.
Now we will complete exporting the citation to RefWorks. Return to JSTOR and click on "Export to RefWorks"
Highlight the citation to view details on the right. You can edit the fields, if necessary.
To create a bibliography in any citation style, click on the checkboxes to the left of the references. Then go to "Create bibliography" and select "Create bibliography."
You can change your citation style using the drop-down menu. (Recommended: Chicago 17th Edition (Notes & Bibliography))
Go back to Browse Databases and click on "Architecture." These are all specialized architecture databases that you can search in addition to our popular databases.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available.
Formerly known as Art Source, Art & Architecture Source is an art research database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
This resource is based on the multi-volume index of the same name, which was published in 1963, collaborated by the Columbia University Avery Library collection. Now offered as an online database, it is the only comprehensive American guide to the past and current literature of architecture and design.