Research Guides: Architecture: Articles and Databases

Architecture Databases

More recommendations can be found on the architecture databases page.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Art Source, Art & Architecture Source is an art research database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This resource is based on the multi-volume index of the same name, which was published in 1963, collaborated by the Columbia University Avery Library collection. Now offered as an online database, it is the only comprehensive American guide to the past and current literature of architecture and design.
Bloomsbury Architecture Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The leading source of information for the study of architecture, urbanism, and interior design, Bloomsbury Architecture Library offers access to a carefully curated collection of fully-searchable text and image content.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Database of thousands of international projects searchable by building type, construction, material, architectural topic, location, and year of construction, with documentation in German and English.

More recommendations can be found on the architecture databases page.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This resource is based on the multi-volume index of the same name, which was published in 1963, collaborated by the Columbia University Avery Library collection. Now offered as an online database, it is the only comprehensive American guide to the past and current literature of architecture and design.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Art Source, Art & Architecture Source is an art research database that covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles, indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more.
Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.

DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
Database of thousands of international projects searchable by building type, construction, material, architectural topic, location, and year of construction, with documentation in German and English.
BuildingGreen This link opens in a new window
This advertising-free database includes articles, reports, infographics, blog posts, and webcasts on sustainable materials, design strategies, building science, design process, and codes and certifications to support green buildings. It includes over 160 high-performance building case studies, and online versions of GreenSpec and Environmental Building News. This information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green building topic.
Material Connexion This link opens in a new window
Material ConneXion is a materials consultancy that helps companies and scholars source advanced materials to enhance the performance, aesthetics and sustainability of their projects.

Use these databases to find information about the future of design and materials

Stylus This link opens in a new window
Stylus provides inspirational and informative research and relates it to prevailing consumer trends, acting as a catalyst to push the design industries to new levels.
WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
Trend forecasting and reporting on furniture & lighting, decorative accessories, kitchen & tabletop, hospitality, experience design and wellness, and more.

More recommendations can be found on the general databases page.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available. JSTOR now includes access to the Artstor collection. Artstor is an extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use . Including high-quality images and visual media from top museums, archives, scholars, artists, and contributors around the world.
MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
MIT Press covers more than 40 ejournals and 3200 ebooks , with 150 ebooks added annually. Subjects emphasized include cognitive science, digital humanities & new media, economics, environment, information science, neuroscience, philosophy, science/technology & society, and social sciences.
ProQuest All Subscribed Content This link opens in a new window
All ProQuest databases, ranging from dissertations to newspaper articles to scholarly journals to trade journals to wire services.

Arcat
Architectural information on building materials, manufacturers, specifications, BIM families and CAD details.
IQS Directory
Digital industrial OEM directory with close to 200 industry groups with a vast network of OEM manufacturing companies offering detailed information on hundreds of industrial products and services.

The Blue Book Building & Construction Network This link opens in a new window
Allows commercial construction industry professionals to find and spec products and services, share plans, specs and design documents, streamline bid communications and view, markup and takeoff project documents.
Sweets Network This link opens in a new window
Sweets is a searchable database for architects, designers, engineers, contractors and facility managers to search and compare building products. It features products from industry-leading manufacturers to help inform decision makers with buying and specifying decisions.
Thomas This link opens in a new window
Powered by The Thomas Register of American Manufacturers, ThomasNet is a product sourcing and supplier discovery platform for OEM, MRO and other products and services.