- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Design and Management is an interdisciplinary field. Therefore, you can find relevant books at any of The New School's libraries.
Search using the Books & More Search box to locate specific books either by call number/library location or using the eBook link.
Subjects at the University Center Library:
Design NK
Fashion Industry TT 496
Subjects at List Center Library:
Advertising HF 5811-5839
Business Law : HF
Economics : HB
Ethics : HF
Fashion Industry HD 9940
Financial Management : HG
Management and Strategy : HD
Marketing HF 5415
Mathematics and Statistics : QA
Merchandising, Display HF 5845
Retailing HD 5429-5465
Locate e-books using the library catalog by searching using keywords in the title, author, publisher, or ISBN.
To search inside of (the full-text) of e-books, first go to the library website and:
1. Click on "Browse Databases"
2. Select "E-books" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Click on an e-book database and search inside the database. Recommended databases are below.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central: Scholarly resource on fashion encompassing Berg Fashion Library and Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive. Find fashion encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks, article citations, images, biographies, timelines, videos, and more.
Fairchild Books Library: Fairchild Books Library covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.
For more information about our E-books, see our E-books Research Guide.
Creative Solutions to Global Business Negotiations by
Making deals globally is a fact of life in modern business. To successfully conduct deals abroad, executives like you need skills to negotiate with counterparts who have different backgrounds and experiences. This book gives you and other international executives the savvy you need to negotiate with finesse and ease. It offers valuable insights into the fine points of negotiating and guidelines on delicate issues that can influence a promising deal. The book is divided into five parts: Global business negotiations framework; the role of culture in negotiations and on choosing an appropriate negotiation style; the negotiation process; negotiation tools, such as communication skills and the role of power in negotiations; and miscellaneous topics such as negotiating on the Internet, gender issue in global negotiations, how small firms can effectively negotiate with large firms, negotiating intangibles, managing negotiating teams, developing an organizational negotiation capability and negotiating via interpreters. Clear and comprehensive, the authors outline the hallmarks of strengthening and maintaining a strong bargaining position for negotiating deals even under adverse conditions.
The Design of Business: Why Design Thinking is the Next Competitive Advantage by
Most companies today have innovation envy. They yearn to come up with a game--changing innovation like Apple's iPod, or create an entirely new category like Facebook. Many make genuine efforts to be innovative--they spend on R&D, bring in creative designers, hire innovation consultants. But they get disappointing results. Why? In The Design of Business, Roger Martin offers a compelling and provocative answer: we rely far too exclusively on analytical thinking, which merely refines current knowledge, producing small improvements to the status quo. To innovate and win, companies need design thinking. This form of thinking is rooted in how knowledge advances from one stage to another--from mystery (something we can't explain) to heuristic (a rule of thumb that guides us toward solution) to algorithm (a predictable formula for producing an answer) to code (when the formula becomes so predictable it can be fully automated). As knowledge advances across the stages, productivity grows and costs drop-creating massive value for companies. Martin shows how leading companies such as Procter & Gamble, Cirque du Soleil, RIM, and others use design thinking to push knowledge through the stages in ways that produce breakthrough innovations and competitive advantage. Filled with deep insights and fresh perspectives, The Design of Business reveals the true foundation of successful, profitable innovation.
Global Business by
Contents: : Global impacts from the White House to a Kenyan house -- Is globalization killing local businesses? -- Inclusive capitalism and the return of social purpose -- Technological disruption in global finance -- The changing face of leadership -- The role of non-governmental organisations -- Life blood of global business : oil and gas -- Emerging economies as growth drivers -- China's re-emergence to global power -- The knowledge barons of India -- Africa and the curse of natural resources -- Australia the hidden jewel -- Geopolitical upheavals : Brexit and Trump -- Disruptive technologies driving growth -- Lifestyle innovations generating new businesses -- Analytics taming the data monster -- The future of work and the changing workplace -- The future of human workers -- Entrepreneurship the new driver of business -- The future of globalization.
The Responsive Global Organization: New Insights from Global Strategy and International Business by
The responsive global organization can adapt business operations across multinational markets in response to unpredictable changes in the turbulent global marketplace. This book deals with different aspects of the effective multinational corporation (MNC) pointing to new ways in which the MNC can enhance responsiveness faced with increasing market turbulence. Drawing on contemporary research in strategy and international business, the book considers relevant aspects including subsidiary autonomy, individual and team engagement, local knowledge, knowledge-based innovation, dynamic integrative processes, cross-cultural management, crisis handling, and the impact of abrupt events. The diversity of multinational business provides many opportunities, but also distinct challenges that must be managed effectively. Here an interactive dynamic between headquarters and local business units is driving responsiveness and adaptive behaviors. Corporate headquarters must structure a multinational organization so adaptive initiatives exploit local market insights where opportunities evolve from autonomous responses around the world. This can entail crisis responses involving both local and corporate efforts as a robust way to handle unexpected incidents. Such interactive approaches constitute a combination of central integration and decentralized local responses as the basis for a dynamic adaptive system. To make this work in a multinational context, we must consider the intricate interplay between corporate values and local cultures, and understand how leadership philosophies influence how diverse employees act as team players and global corporate citizens. The book provides relevant insights on all these important issues.
Design Management: Using Design to Build Brand Value and Corporate Innovation by
Written by a leading authority in the fields of marketing and design, here is first book ever to bring together the theory and practice of design management. In eleven comprehensive chapters, Design Management offers time-tested tools for choosing the right design agency . . . integrating design in the organization . . . creating value and contributing to company performance . . . contributing to brand value and corporate vision . . . and implementing design projects. What's more, dozens of case studies, real-life examples, and leadership profiles illustrate essential theories from design, management, and marketing. An indispensable reference for every design and marketing professional.* Copublished with the prestigious Design Management Institute in Boston * Features case studies from leaders in design and marketing management Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Exceptional Leadership by Design: How Design in Great Organizations Produces Great Leadership by
Imagine a world with great leadership. What would that world be like? Would it be a better world or a worse one? Now ratchet great leadership up to exceptional leadership and suddenly we have cause for optimism. But how do we design exceptional leadership, and would we even know it if we saw it? Traditional paradigms of leadership have celebrated decisive top-down control and analytical decision-making. But times are changing. The world is more connected, complex, fluid and interdependent. This book debunks the myth that leaders need to be creative like designers to apply Design Thinking. Applying design approaches and practices to organizational leadership is not just about its leaders becoming more creative. It is definitely not about the person at the top coming up with the grand answer. Design thinking starts with the 'pain point' related to the problem you are trying to solve. You get to the heart of the issue. It is a collaborative effort that neatly leads stakeholders and representatives affected by the problem to design novel leadership solutions that actually work. This collection of stories, examples and narratives about exceptional leadership by design provides readers of all levels of experience with tangible, real, and heartfelt examples of how the design process can be applied to leadership. It will show how we: Inform greatleadership with design Strengthen our ownleadership by design Redesign heroleadership for more inclusivity Redesignorganizations for Fe+Male leadership synergy Design leadershipfor a VUCA world Design flow-basedleadership Designorganizations that build resilient leadership Design leadershipfor innovation Design culturallyintelligent leadership Build leadershipinto our spaces and places
The Fundamentals of Design Management by
The book explicitly places the principles and processes of design within the context of a business or enterprise, explaining how design management can relate to the cultural, environmental, political and social impact of an enterprise. It emphasises the inter-disciplinary nature of design management, and as such is of relevance to students of a number of disciplines- from art and design to business, marketing or media. The text is supported throughout by a range of interviews and case studies, taken from design practitioners and industry experts.
The Handbook of Design Management by
The management of design has emerged as central to the operational and strategic options of any successful organization. The Handbook of Design Management presents a state-of-the-art overview of the subject - its methodologies, current debates, history and future.The Handbook covers the breadth of principles, methods and practices that shape design management across the different design disciplines. These theories and practices extend from the operational to the strategic, from the product to the organization.Bringing together leading international scholars, the Handbook provides a guide to the latest research in the field. It also documents the shifts that have been taking place both in management and in design which have highlighted the value of design thinking and design education to organizations.Presenting the first systematic overview of the subject - and offering a wide range of examples, insights and analysis - the Handbook is an invaluable resource for researchers and students in design and management, as well as for design practitioners and professional managers.
Real Women, Real Leaders by
Plan your path to leadership with insight from real women at the top In Real Women, Real Leadership, twenty-four women leaders describe their personal journeys to the top, providing deep insight and a fascinating perspective on "making it" as a woman in the male-dominated business environment. They discuss their experiences and offer guidance on topics such as balancing family and career, building alliances, mentoring and being mentored, and overcoming obstacles in the business world which is still dominated by men in the senior levels of management. Drawn from a range of industries including higher education, technology, law, the military, politics, the media, and more, these stories provide the details that every ambitious woman needs to know. You'll learn which skills, attributes, and relationships served these women best, how they overcame the obstacles thrown into their paths, and the people they credit as instrumental along the way. A self-assessment chapter helps you discover your own leadership attributes, and determine which skills you need to acquire as you formulate your own personal roadmap to the top. There are many books about women who have been excellent leaders, but Real Women, Real Leadership provides the personal, relatable testimonials from women who have navigated the opportunities and pitfalls of the business world. Each story sheds light on women's unique leadership attributes, and provides guidance for professional women charting their own professional advancement. Learn from women leaders in a diverse range of industries Discover the leadership attributes that make the biggest impact Gain insight into work/life balance, mentors, relationships, and more Discover your leadership strengths and develop a plan forward Studies have shown that companies with three or more women board members dramatically outperform the competition in returns on equity, sales, and invested capital -- yet women only claim a tiny percentage of boardroom seats and top executive positions. Why? And why, when they do achieve leadership positions, do women tend to make such outstanding leaders? Real Women, Real Leadership tackles these questions and more from an in-the-trenches perspective to help you become the leader you want to be.
Experiential Marketing by
The most researched, documented, and comprehensive manifesto on experiential marketing. As customers take control over what, when, why, and how they buy products and services, brands face the complete breakdown and utter failure of passive marketing strategies designed more than a half-century ago. To connect with a new generation of customers, companies must embrace and deploy a new marketing mix, powered by a more effective discipline: experiences. Experiential marketing, the use of live, face-to-face engagements to connect with audiences, create relationships and drive brand affinity, has become the fastest-growing form of marketing in the world as the very companies that built their brands on the old Madison Avenue approach--including Coca-Cola, Nike, Microsoft, American Express and others--open the next chapter of marketing. . . as experiential brands. Using hundreds of case studies, exclusive research, and interviews with more than 150 global brands spanning a decade, global experiential marketing experts Kerry Smith and Dan Hanover present the most in-depth book ever written on how companies are using experiences as the anchor of reinvented marketing mixes. You'll learn: The history and fundamental principles of experiential marketing How top brands have reset marketing mixes as experience-driven portfolios The anatomy of a brand experience The psychology of engagement and experience design The 10 habits of highly experiential brands How to measure the impact of experiential marketing How to combine digital and social media in an experiential strategy The experiential marketing vocabulary How to begin converting to experiential marketing Marketers still torn between outdated marketing models and the need to reinvent how they market in today's customer-controlled economy will find the clarity they need to refine their marketing strategies, get a roadmap for putting their brands on a winning path, and walk away inspired to transition into experiential brands.
International Marketing by
International Marketing is an adaptation of a best-selling German text, which considers the global marketing arena from a new and original perspective. It focuses upon international marketing primarily as the coordination of a company's different national marketing programmes. How can for example an exchange of marketing knowledge across borders add value to a company's position in other markets? What impact does the exchange of goods and information across borders by customers have? What effect can 'going international' have on an international cost position? How can lead markets act as a guide to future developments in other countries? International Marketing takes a comprehensive look at all the underlying concepts, using a wealth of truly European examples and substantial case studies.
International Marketing: Theory and Practice from Developing Countries by
This volume offers an excellent understanding of international marketing theory and practice within a constantly-changing and increasingly-complex global environment, with greater emphasis on developing countries. Designed for academics, researchers, students, practitioners, and policy-makers in the fields of international marketing, international business, and international trade, the book provides in-depth knowledge and understanding of contemporary theories and their applications in international marketing functions and practices. It exposes the readers to the global environmental forces.
Luxury Retail and Digital Management by
Develop a winning customer experience in the digital world Luxury consumers are changing - they come from all over the world, they are young and they are digital natives. How can luxury brands that have built themselves as pure physical players adapt their business model and practices to address their expectations without abandoning their luxury DNA? Luxury Retail and Digital Management, 2nd Edition sets focus on the major retailing challenges and customer evolutions luxury brands are facing today: the digitalisation and the emergence of the millennials and Chinese luxury consumers. These major changes have been affecting the distribution and communication channels of luxury brands; they now have to think simultaneously physical stores and e-commerce, global marketing and digital marketing. * Defines all the tools that are necessary to manage luxury stores including analysis of location and design concept * Explores the selection, training and motivation of the staff * Covers everything executives, managers and retail staff need to know in order to enter, expand, understand and succeed in the world of luxury retail Written by luxury retail experts Michel Chevalier and Michel Gutsatz, who lend their solid academic credentials and professional expertise to the subject, Luxury Retail and Digital Management, 2nd Edition provides deep insight into the main challenges that luxury brands are facing in this digital age.
Building Design Strategy by
How can design be used to solve business problems? That's the question answered, in many innovative ways, by Building Design Strategy. Mark Dziersk, EunSool Kwon, Arnold Levin, Laura Weiss, and many more top-name contributors share their experience and insights. Topics explore the full range of issues today, including thinking ahead; adapting to challenges; developing tangible strategies; using design to convey ideas; choosing worthwhile projects to help growth; using design to create fiercely loyal customers.
Design Thinking by
Develop a more systematic, human-centered, results-oriented thought process Design Thinking is the Product Development and Management Association's (PDMA) guide to better problem solving and decision-making in product development and beyond. The second in the New Product Development Essentials series, this book shows you how to bridge the gap between the strategic importance of design and the tactical approach of design thinking. You'll learn how to approach new product development from a fresh perspective, with a focus on systematic, targeted thinking that results in a repeatable, human-centered problem-solving process. Integrating high-level discussion with practical, actionable strategy, this book helps you re-tool your thought processes in a way that translates well beyond product development, giving you a new way to approach business strategy and more. Design is a process of systematic creativity that yields the most appropriate solution to a properly identified problem. Design thinking disrupts stalemates and brings logic to the forefront of the conversation. This book shows you how to adopt these techniques and train your brain to see the answer to any question, at any level, in any stage of the development process. Become a better problem-solver in every aspect of business Connect strategy with practice in the context of product development Systematically map out your new product, service, or business Experiment with new thought processes and decision making strategies You can't rely on old ways of thinking to produce the newest, most cutting-edge solutions. Product development is the bedrock of business --whether your "product" is a tangible object, a service, or the business itself -- and your approach must be consistently and reliably productive. Design Thinking helps you internalize this essential process so you can bring value to innovation and merge strategy with reality.
Rethinking Corporate Sustainability in the Era of Climate Crisis by
This book provides a clear, critical, and timely analysis of the state of corporate sustainability within the context of the climate crisis. It offers not only a substantive critique of the current efforts but also clarity about the changes needed and how to implement them. The book goes beyond the more common debate on shareholder capitalism vs. stakeholder capitalism to explain the shortcomings of the current approach to sustainability in business, which the author describes as sustainability-as-usual. Using strategic design lenses, the author proposes a new model of awakened sustainability, which offers a transformational shift in corporate sustainability to ensure companies fairly and effectively address the climate crisis. The book presents the numerous changes needed in the environment in which companies operate to enable awakened sustainability and how these changes can be realized. Grounded in the scientific community's calls for urgent action on climate change, this groundbreaking text provides scholars with an evaluation of current and future trends in corporate sustainability. It connects the dots between the progress made in the last five decades and the opportunities entailed in the work on a regenerative and just vision for companies in this decade and beyond.
Strategic Design: Eight Essential Practices Every Strategic Designer Must Master by
Design professionals' in innovation are no longer just executors of new product and/or service design briefs but are increasingly involved in the crafting of these briefs and in the strategic decisions leading to these briefs. Their rol is growing towards a more strategic one. In order to effectively play this role, design professionals need to master a set of strategic practices � i.e., routinized actions and ways of working. However, many designers lack knowledge on specific practices for acting effectively on a strategic level in innovation projects.This book introduces eight strategic design practices. These practices help the design professionals become familiar with effective tools for strategic innovation projects and give them a set of guidelines for easily and quickly applying these practices and tools.
The Strategic Design Handbook by
The new comprehensive guide for Strategic Design, from a design strategist who has coached small, medium, and large companies to create strategies to achieve their goals.Amelia Sander believes in thinking about how we design strategies, rather than focusing on what products we can design. We know more today than ever before about design trends and the importance of a strategy that works. Sander familiarizes readers with the basic principles behind strategy and design with real-life applications.The Strategic Design Handbook teaches you general rules such as the Schools of Strategy, Design Thinking Process, and how to tie Strategy and Design together to align your stakeholders -complete with exciting illustrations. Use The Strategic Design Handbook to achieve alignment at work to impress your internal, external teams, drive design leadership and strategic culture to achieve your business goals.