Research Guides: Finding Streaming Video Content: In Databases

Outside the Library Catalog

For a variety of reasons, there is also a lot of video content to which we have access but is not listed directly in our catalog. These videos can be found by searching their host platforms, which in turn can be found on our databases list (see "Databases with Video Content," below, to see how you can get a complete and current list). Here are a few specific databases of particular interest.

Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Many films individually licensed for use in course reserves are hosted on Digital Campus. They were each procured at the request of an instructor for use with a specific class, but they can be enjoyed by anyone in The New School community-- current students, faculty, and staff.
Dis.art This link opens in a new window
DIS is a New York-based collective composed of Lauren Boyle, Solomon Chase, Marco Roso and David Toro. DIS.art features video art from boundary-breaking contemporary artists exploring the themes of capital, identity, nations, nature, and more.
Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI): Education This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1971, Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit arts organization that is a leading international resource for video and media art. The EAI collection spans the mid-1960s to the present, and is recognized as one of the most comprehensive video art collections in the world.

EAI’s Educational Streaming Service contains almost 2,000 titles by 65 artists and will eventually encompass EAI’s entire collection of 3,800 media artworks. Videos currently not available for streaming can be requested via the New School library's Course Reserves service.
Kanopy Videostreaming This link opens in a new window
Many films individually licensed for use in course reserves are hosted on Kanopy, and there is also a significant collection of core titles that are always available.

Databases with Video Content

We can access many other databases that feature video content. Some of these are all-you-can-eat subscriptions, and some are platforms where we license titles à la carte. You can find both types on our Databases A-Z list. Here's how:

Start on our homepage, library.newschool.edu
Scroll down to the "Quick Links" section, below the search box
Click "Databases A-Z"
From the top of the list of all databases, use the center drop-down menu to switch from "All Database Types" to "Video." Now you have a list of databases which include streaming video content. Check it out!

Finding Streaming Video Content

Outside the Library Catalog

Databases with Video Content

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges