Research Guides: Academic Writing: Images

Stock Photography Images

These images are meant for commercial use, but students may use images for visual reference. Make sure to follow licensing and copyright restrictions and get the proper permissions when you use any images for a film you intend to show beyond the classroom.

Tetra Images
Specializes in multicultural stock photography
Corbis
Stock photography and illustrations database.
Getty Images
Stock photography and illustrations database. Images can be limited by people, location, concept, subject or composition. Contains the Time & Life magazines image archive.
iStockphoto
Member-generated stock photo site
Lonely Planet Images
Stock photo database specializing in international destinations
Masterfile
Independent stock photo agency with unique picture search
PCN Photography
Stock photo website specializing in sports
Photolibrary
Represents the world’s leading stock brands and photographers from around the world.
Veer
Veer provides visual elements for use in professional creative work, such as graphic design, motion design, advertising and filmmaking. Our products include stock photography, illustration, typefaces, and unique merchandise.

Websites

Access:

Some of the following resources are only accessible through My New School under the “Library” tab, or through the Search Electronic Resources and Databases link on the library’s website when accessing from on campus.

Bing Images
Microsoft's search engine might be even better than Google Images. Try it out!
Daugerreian Society
Portrait and landscape photographs from the 19th century.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Maps, primarily of the Americas from the 18th and 19th centuries
George Eastman House photography collections online
A good source for notable art and commercial photography as well of pictures of cameras.
LIFE Magazine Photo Archive at Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
National Geographic
Striking photos of nature and cultures around the world.
National Library of Medicine Images from the History of Medicine
New York Daily News photos
Recent and historic photographs of people, places and events in New York
Picsearch
Web image search engine. Can specify black and white or color and size of image.
Time and Life Magazine Images
Time & Life Pictures represents some of the world's most recognizable imagery. On this website, we offer content from the finest photojournalists, documenting past and present political and cultural events, as well as celebrities and the American experience.
The World Bank Photo Collection
The World Bank has a distinctive collection of over 12,000 images that illustrate development through topics such as Agriculture, Education, Environment, Health, Trade and more.

Databases

Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America.
Flickr This link opens in a new window
This is an online photo management and sharing application which also aids organizing of online photos and video. Registration is required.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Images digitized from primary sources and printed materials in the collections of The New York Public Library, including manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.
Open Vault (WGBH Media Library & Archives) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Open Vault provides interview, performance, and other video footage, plus informational texts and transcripts, produced by the Boston-based public radio station WGBH. Categories of material include GBH Series, Scholar Exhibits, and Special Collections. At this time, it appears that material in the latter two categories has been mostly or completely digitized; but the material in the GBH Series, not so much or not at all.

Google Search Tip

Use Google to find images on government or nonprofit websites, as well as images on websites from specific countries

Follow this pattern: Keywords site:domain extension

Examples:

Malcolm x images site:org

This search will exclusively return results from non-profit websites

Malcom X images site:gov

This search will exclusively return results from government website

Domain extensions:

gov - government

org - nonprofit organizations

edu - educational institutions

com- commercial

net- community networks

mil - military

int - international organizations

To find websites from other countries, use the Country Domain Codes:

Example:

floods images site:in

Will exclusively retrieve websites from India

Academic Writing

Stock Photography Images

Websites

Databases

Google Search Tip

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges