Incorporating Grove Music Online (the definitive music reference source in the English language) Oxford Music online provides access to more than 57,000 articles written by some 6,000 scholars. This is a great starting point for almost any music research project.
Music Periodicals Database is the only electronic index with abstracts to current music periodicals. New journals are added with the advice of the MPD Advisory Board. The database contains over 600,000 records, with complete runs of over ten important titles, such as the Journal of the American Musicological Society and Notes. MPD provides both current and retrospective coverage. IIMP offers the most extensive backfile available electronically, with over 235,000 records from 1874 to 1996.
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature, a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available.
This database will contain 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. Among the labels whose catalogs are included in the service are leading independent classical labels such as BIS, Chandos, CPO, Haenssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Vanguard Classics, VOX, and of course Naxos. World music content is provided by ARC, Celestial Harmonies and others.
This database is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries.Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Music Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
This database is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.
DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. Continuing in the tradition of DRAM's sister company New World Records, one of DRAM's primary focuses is the preservation and dissemination of important recordings that have been neglected by the commercial marketplace, recordings that may otherwise become lost or forgotten.
Great singers throughout the centuries have shared a common goal: to gain an awareness of the synergy of words and music in order to communicate a deeper understanding of the work with the audience, to be expressive, and to sing beautifully. SingersBabel is dedicated to helping musicians achieve this fundamental goal by integrating traditional teaching tools with established technology.
LibraryMusicSource.com is assembled from the 200 plus catalog of the CD-ROM collections of CD Sheet Music, LLC. Includes masterworks for piano, organ, classical guitar, strings, winds, voice, chorus and study scores. Subscription expires 9/30/20.
The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the Internationale Stiftung Mozart in cooperation with the Mozart cities of Augsburg, Salzburg, and Vienna
Features explanations and listening samples as well as important documents related to the pieces and now owned by the Beethoven-Haus: 300 manuscripts from Beethoven (autographs), copies by professional copyists and drafts, 800 first publications as well as work related letters and pictures. For each document, visitors can read and listen to scientific and interesting information.
The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.
The contents of songbooks are not always listed in the library catalog. This makes searches for individual songs in the catalog, at best, incomplete. To remedy this situation, we have indexed close to 2,000 reference scores and songbooks. The collection includes full piano-vocal scores, selections from musicals, compilations by a specific composer and/or performer and song anthologies.