Research Guides: Parsons Paris Library Resources: eBooks

eBooks

Locate e-books using the library catalog by searching using keywords in the title, author, publisher, or ISBN.

To search inside of (the full-text) of e-books, first go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Databases A-Z" under the Quick Links header.
2. Select "E-books" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Click on an e-book database and search inside the database. Recommended databases are below.

For more information about our E-books, see our E-books Research Guide.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
An exhaustive selection of authoritative, scholarly e-books that combines ebook databases ebrary and EBL into one platform.
EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular e-books on a wide range of topics. Most can be downloaded.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Recent articles are generally not available. JSTOR now includes access to the Artstor collection. Artstor is an extensive image resource for educational and scholarly use . Including high-quality images and visual media from top museums, archives, scholars, artists, and contributors around the world.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education.
Bloomsbury Architecture Design & Practice This link opens in a new window
Over 200 key titles for the design studio and professional practice
Bloomsbury Cultural History This link opens in a new window
The Cultural Histories Series offers an authoritative survey of a wide range of subjects throughout history. Each subject is looked at in Antiquity, the Medieval Age, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, the Age of Empire and the Modern Age and thematic coverage is consistent across all periods so that users can either gain a broad overview of a period or follow a theme through the ages.
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
The Bloomsbury Design Library offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, reference works, e-books, images, and more.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Scholarly resource on fashion encompassing Berg Fashion Library and Bloomsbury Fashion Photography Archive. Find fashion encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks, article citations, images, biographies, timelines, videos, and more.

Reference sources such as an encyclopedias and dictionaries are used in the beginning stages of research. These sources provide context, and list books and articles that can be consulted for further reading. Go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Databases A-Z" under the Quick Links header.
2. Select "Encyclopedia" under the "All Database Types" drop-down menu
3. Select a database. Recommended databases are below.

There are also specialized encyclopedias for subjects such as art and music. Find these by selecting a subject in the "All Subjects" drop-down menu on the library databases page.

Credo Reference Academic Core
Credo Reference helps you start your research with 800+ full-text reference resources, such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, subject handbooks, image collections, and videos, on a user-friendly online platform.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).

Searching Google Books is another way to search inside books. To find out whether a book you discover through Google Books is available at The New School Libraries and Archives, copy and paste the title or author into the library catalog.

Searching Internet Archive is another is another way to search eBooks. Internet Archive allows you to read the book online and/or check out the book for 14 days.

Parsons Paris Library Resources

eBooks

Libraries, Collections, & Academic Services

University Resources

Colleges