Compiled by the American Theological Library Association, ATLA Religion Database covers Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues. This is the single most important database in religious studies. Coverage 1949-present.
Historical Abstracts includes coverage from several journals with material on religion, including the following that make religion a major focus: History of Religions, Journal for the History of Modern Theology, Journal of Religious History, Journal of the American Academy of Religion, Archives des Sciences Sociales des Religions, Studi e Materiali di Storia delle Religioni, and Zeitschrift fuer Religions und Geistesgeschichte.
This database contains 256 journals classed under "Religion" as a subject. Of these, 198 have full-text for some or all of the material covered; the remainder have bibliographic records only. Among the journals covered: Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion, International Journal for Philosophy of Religion, Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, Journal of Religion, Daoism: Religion, History and Society, Image; Journal of the Arts and Religion, Tibetan Review, Asian Philosophy, Dao: A Journal of Contemplative Philosophy, Philosophy East and West, Studies in Central and East Asian Religions, and WorldViews; Global Religions, Culture & Ecology.
Patrologia Latina is a useful database for students of the history of Christianity. It comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in several areas of philosophy that are also of interest to religious studies, such as the philosophy of religion, ethics, and metaphysics. The literature covered in this index goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters in anthologies, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly. Of the journals focused on religion that it indexes, perhaps a third are devoted to Eastern religion.
Project Muse contains full-text articles from at least 34 journals with significant religious content, including Catholic Historical Review, Quaker History, Franciscan Studies, American Jewish History, Logos: A Journal of Catholic Thought and Culture, Jewish Quarterly Review, Spiritus: a Journal of Christian Spirituality, Buddhist-Christian Studies, Modern Judaism, Journal of Feminist Studies, Bridges: A Jewish Feminist Journal, Tikkun, Magic, Ritual, and Witchcraft, American Catholic Studies, Toronto Journal of Theology, U.S. Catholic Historian, Journal of the American Academy of Religion, and many others. The emphasis is on Western religions.
PsycInfo, the major index for scholarly literature in psychology, retrieves 48,378 citations on the search term "religion"; when that search is confined to English-language literature, the database retrieves references to 45,863 items, including 28,350 journal articles, 12,347 books, and 5,166 dissertations and theses. Many citations contain summaries of the article or book listed.
The sociology of religion as a subfield is copiously represented in this index, with over 38,000 results in English alone, spread over scholarly journals, books and book chapters, conference papers and proceedings (The American Sociological Association is uniquely assiduous in collecting this particular grey literature.), and dissertations and theses.