Skip to Main Content

Journalism & Design

NYC Open Data

NYC Open Data provides free and open public access to NYC public agencies and related data. Examples: 311 service requests, construction projects, MTA data, NYPD arrest data, and much more.

https://opendata.cityofnewyork.us/

Finding official NYC Information and Data

To find information and data on any topic from NYC agencies, use the following Google search template:

my topic site:nyc.gov  OR my topic data site:nyc.gov  OR my topic statistics site:nyc.gov

Example:  police use of force site:nyc.gov

Please note: data are not always available for the most recent year, month or week. Each agency has data collection and reporting schedules that may govern what the most recent available data is.

General NYC Public Information & Records

NYC Records &  Information Services provides online access to The City Record which lists Public Hearings, Procurement and Contract Awards, Agency Rules, Court Notices, and more: https://a856-cityrecord.nyc.gov/

NYC Open Records: https://a860-openrecords.nyc.gov/  Includes link for filing a Freedom of Information Law (FOIL) request

NYC Government Publications online: https://a860-gpp.nyc.gov/collections/zw12z528p?locale=en  Includes Daily Shelter Reports,  Use of Force Encounter Reports, City Planning Commission Reports, and much more

NYC 311: https://portal.311.nyc.gov/   Look up 311 service requests (includes optional map search), Find NYC services information across city agencies and documents and information such as arrests and bail. Browse the directory to find out more: https://www1.nyc.gov/nyc-resources/categories.page

NYS Courts & Cases Information

The New York State Unified Court System eCourts site allows you to search for cases in NYS local civil courts, the State Supreme Court, Criminal courts, and Family courts. Search by index number, party name, attorney/law firm or judge.

https://iapps.courts.state.ny.us/webcivil/ecourtsMain

Help in finding court record information, information about the court system (including court system basics and court case basics), legal terms and more can be found at Court Help: https://www.nycourts.gov/CourtHelp/GoingToCourt/records.shtml

Property Records

You can do NYC property-related records research for individuals and businesses via the ACRIS system of the NYC Dept of Finance. Search property records by owner name or by location: https://www1.nyc.gov/site/finance/taxes/acris.page

NYC Dep of Buildings - Building Info Search (BIS):  http://a810-bisweb.nyc.gov/bisweb/bispi00.jsp    Find applications, complaints, violations, etc.