Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Continuing & Professional Studies Research Guide

This guide is to assist The New School Open Campus students. It will provide more information regarding access, resources, and research assistance.

E-books

Search the "Books & More" tab of BobCat on the library website to find books using keywords in the title, author, publisher, or ISBN.    

To search inside of (the full-text) of e-books, go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Research Guides"
2. Look to the right hand side of the page anc click on the red button that says "Go to A-Z List"
3. Select the dropdown menu that says "All Database Types" and select "E-books"

You can then search multiple ebook databases at the same time, or go straight to one of these recommended databases:

For more information about our E-books, see our E-books Research Guide.

EBook Tutorial

Encyclopedias

Reference sources such as an encyclopedias and dictionaries are used in the beginning stages of research.  These sources provide context, and list books and articles that can be consulted for further reading.  Go to the library website and:

1. Click on "Databases"
2. Click on "Browse Subjects"
3. Select "Encyclopedias"

You can then search multiple reference databases at the same time, or go straight to one of these recommended databases:

Online Options

Searching Google Books is another way to search inside books.  To find out whether a book you discover through Google Books is available at The New School Libraries and Archives, copy and paste the title or author into the library catalog.

Searching Internet Archive is another is another way to search eBooks.  Internet Archive allows you to read the book online and/or check out the book for 14 days.