Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Campus Research Guide

This guide is to assist The New School Open Campus students. It will provide more information regarding access, resources, and research assistance.

Finding Articles

A periodical index is a type of library database that is used to locate periodical (magazine, newspaper and journal) articles. Many of these indexes are “full-text,” which means that articles are available to read online. When articles are not full-text, they are sometimes available through other databases that we subscribe to (follow the link in the database search results, or find the article with a citation).  

You can either search multiple databases at the same time by searching on subject pages, or you can search individual databases.  We recommend searching individual databases because you can refine to peer-reviewed articles only, sort by date, and download, email, and print articles.

How to Search Library Databases

1. Select a subject page.

  • Who cares about my topic? 
  • What perspective am I interested in pursuing?

Are you researching a multidisciplinary topic?  Try a General Research database.  We recommend ProQuest All Subscribed Content and Academic Search Complete (EBSCO).

2.  To identify the best databases for your research topic, search multiple databases on any subject page by entering keywords at the top of the page.  On the search results page, limit "results by database" using the menu on the left side of the page, and see which database produced the best search results.  

3. To search any database individually, click on the name of the database.  To learn about the scope and coverage of any database, click on the "more information" icon next to the database name.  

4. You can also search the Databases A-Z page for keywords that would appear in a database description.  

5. Ask Us if you need help finding the best database for your research topic. That's what we're here for!

Article Video Tutorials