- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Find recommended books, databases, and research strategies for fine artists.
Art/Work - Revised and Updated by
The definitive, must-have guide to pursuing an art career--the fully revised and updated edition of Art/Work, now in its fourteenth printing, shares the tools artists of all levels need to make it in this highly competitive field. Originally published in 2009, Art/Work was the first practical guide to address how artists can navigate the crucial business and legal aspects of a fine art career. But the rules have changed since then, due to the proliferation of social media, increasing sophistication of online platforms, and ever more affordable digital technology. Artists have never had to work so hard to distinguish themselves--including by making savvy decisions and forging their own paths. Now Heather Bhandari, with over fifteen years of experience as a director of the popular Chelsea gallery Mixed Greens, and Jonathan Melber, a former arts/entertainment lawyer and director of an art e-commerce startup, advise a new generation of artists on how to make it in the art world. In this revised and updated edition, Bhandari and Melber show artists how to tackle a host of new challenges. How do you diversify income streams to sustain a healthy art practice? How can you find an alternative to the gallery system? How do you review a license agreement? What are digital marketing best practices? Also included are new quotes from over thirty arts professionals, updated commission legal templates, organizational tips, tax information, and advice for artists who don't make objects. An important resource for gallerists, dealers, art consultants, artist-oriented organizations, and artists alike, Art/Work is the resource that all creative entrepreneurs in the art world turn to for advice.
The Artist's Guide to Selling Work by
A one-stop resource containing everything artists need to know to sell their work.This best-selling guide provides all the advice you need to sell your work in today's competitive market. This fantastic new edition has been updated with essential advice on how to make full use of digital opportunities for selling your work, such as social networking and e-marketing. It contains information and suggestions about:- Selecting and approaching galleries - Pricing and payments- Royalty rates and financial management- Sample contracts and other legal considerations- Creating a website and maximising hits- Mastering social media to increase your visibility- Managing sales via online stores such as Etsy, Folksy or eBay- Printing your own reproductions and marketing themWith a foreword by Mary Ann Rogers, one of Britain's most acclaimed watercolour painters who was awarded 'Best Selling Published Artist' by the Fine Art Trade Guild in 2009.
The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers by
This second edition of the best-selling, comprehensive handbook The Essential Guide to Business for Artists and Designers will appeal to a wide range of artists, makers, designers, and photographers looking to set up and establish an arts practice or design business within the visual arts and creative industries. With fully revised content, three new chapters, and profiles of contemporary artists and designers from around the world, this guide leads the reader through the most important aspects of setting up and growing a profitable enterprise.Providing the vital knowledge and tools to develop a vision and achieve business growth, topics include:- Building networks and successful negotiation tactics - Promoting an engaging social media presence- Business planning and money management- Overview of legal, tax and intellectual property issues- Setting up a website and trading online- Exploiting innovation and future trends As well as specially tailored enterprise exercises and useful diagrams, this latest edition features apt quotations and indispensable resources including an extensive glossary and a list of key professional bodies and organisations based in the UK, USA, Canada, Australia and South America.This handbook is printed in a dyslexic-friendly font and includes new illustrated mind maps and colour pictures throughout.
Gallery Ready by
Do you desire to show your art in a gallery, yet do not know where to begin? Gallery Ready shares best practices for visual artists, from emerging to midcareer, so they can experience optimum results in making, showing and selling their art. As an artist, you will learn what you can do to attract the attention of a gallery director. Gallery Owner, Franceska Alexander shows artists: How to make their art stand out from the crowd How to be fully prepared to meet with a important gallery decision makers How to keep their artwork fresh and collectors excited about the art Gallery Ready, A Creative Blueprint for Visual Artists, clearly illustrates what artists can do to make their art, gallery ready!
The Profitable Artist by
The Indispensable Roadmap Artists Need to Navigate Their Careers"The Profitable Artist's chapters address a spectrum of practical topics for working artists." --Artsy.net While all art is unique, the challenges artists face are shared regardless of background, experience, and artistic medium. With decades of experience training and helping artists worldwide, the expert staff of the New York Foundation for the Arts--in conjunction with outside professionals--have compiled a "best practices" approach to planning and organizing an art career. In The Profitable Artist, Second Edition, NYFA has identified common problems, examined specialized areas of strategic planning, finance, marketing, law, and fundraising, and distilled these topics in such a way that readers can digest them and apply them to their own experience and practice. This newly revised edition has made considerable updates to reflect changes in the legal and financial landscapes, the vast shift in the tools and culture of both social media and fundraising, and proven planning methodologies from the startup community. All of this continues to be presented in an accessible manner, which encourages artists to apply the information and techniques in a way that is true to their personal and artistic integrity. This invaluable guide appeals to artists in all disciplines of the literary, media, performing, and visual arts--from recent art school graduates to established artists undertaking new arts businesses to artists seeking more from their careers at any stage.
The New York Times and ArtForum are good places to find galleries and exhibitions.
Note: Find recent issues of ArtForum at the University Center Library.
Four ways to expand your research:
Helpful keywords and subjects to use when searching for information on managing your art.
Contemporary Artist Residencies by
Collecting writings from artists, theorists and artist residency facilitators, Contemporary Artist Residencies examines the present role of the residency for artists and the international art ecosystem. With a range of discussions on the continuously evolving role of residencies in our political and historical moment, the book also examines residencies' varied attempts at "reclaiming time and space" for artistic practice while serving as nodes for collaboration, research, and critical thinking--not to mention a crucial and sought-after means of promoting artists' career development and the international circulation of their work. The book features contributions by Pascal Gielen, Livia Alexander, Nathalie Angl s, Helmut Batista and Taru Elfving, among others. The latest of Valiz's Antennae series of books designed by Metahaven, Contemporary Artist Residencies helps to fill the surprising gap in books about how and why residencies function in today's art world.
The Only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need (Fifth Edition) by
From top experts in the field, the definitive guide to grant-writing Written by two expert authors who have won secured millions of dollars in government and foundation grants, The Only Grant-Writing Book You'll Ever Need is the classic book on grant seeking, providing a comprehensive, step-by-step guide for government, nonprofit, and individual grant seekers. Drawing on decades of experience in grant writing and professional development, Ellen Karsh and Arlen Sue Fox demystify the process of securing grants while offering indispensable advice from funders and recipients. This updated fifth edition includes: Vital information about grantsmanship in today's ever-changing economic and social climate In-depth interviews with funders, nonprofit leaders, and policy makers about the grants process A new chapter on how to diversify funding and think "outside the box" when grants are scarce Concrete suggestions for developing each section of a proposal Hands-on exercises that let you practice what you learn A detailed description of important websites for grant seekers Strategies for developing and presenting programs that are likely to receive grants
Four ways to expand your research:
Helpful keywords and subjects to use when searching for information on managing your art.