- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Find recommended books, databases, and research strategies for fine arts management.
Art Business Today by
Art Business Today: 20 Key Topics is an accessible and comprehensive companion to the business of art written by leading experts in the field, many of them based at Sotheby's Institute of Art. It is an essential reference book for students in the areas of art business, arts management, the creative and cultural industries, art history, and general business and management. The key topics covered range from larger-scale questions about the globalisation, funding, and ethics of the art market, to entries more focussed on art objects themselves, such as connoisseurship, authenticity and conservation. Providing an up-to-date entree to the processes, structures, trends and peculiarities of the global art business, this book will fascinate all those unfamiliar with its opaque practices and traditions.
The Art Collector's Handbook by
With the rapid and unprecedented global expansion of the art market, new collectors are emerging every day. This new edition of Mary Rozell's definitive handbook is required reading for new and experienced collectors alike, as well as anyone aspiring to a professional career within today's art market. Fully revised since its first publication in 2014 to reflect the many changes which have taken place in the art market, in art law, and in the practice of collecting, it now includes a completely new chapter on private museums. Mary Rozell draws on her long experience as an art collection professional and an art lawyer to illuminate some of the myriad issues that arise when owning an art collection. Covering acquisition, inventory management, the insurance, security, storage and conservation of collections, art financing and investing, and the sharing and deaccessioning of artworks, this meticulously researched but accessible book is an essential guide to the fascinating business of collecting.
Corporate Art Collections by
This new volume in the series of Handbooks in International Art Business published in association with Sotheby's Institute of Art offers a timely guide to the history, nature and importance of corporate collecting and the different reasons for starting and maintaining corporate collections, including investment, cultural cachet, and asset diversification. Based on interviews with the curators, consultants and investors who run such collections, and more extended case studies of important collections, the book concludes with an examination of when corporate collecting becomes a liability and the market-impact of deaccessioning, looking ahead to the future of corporate collecting.
Visual Arts and the Law by
This essential handbook offers art professionals and collectors an accessible legal analysis of important principles in art law, as well as a practical guide to legal rights when creating, buying, selling and collecting art in a global market. Although the book is international in scope, there is a particular focus on the US as a major art centre and the site of countless key international court cases. This authoritative but accessible and wide-ranging volume is essential reading for arts advisors, collectors, dealers, auction houses, museums, investors, artists, attorneys and students of art and law.
Risk and Uncertainty in the Art World by
Risk and Uncertainty in the Art World offers the first complete overview of risk in the art market by bringing together contributions from a wide range of international thought-leaders on the topic - both practitioners and leading scholars who investigate the specific types of uncertainty that exist in the art market as well as the dominant models used to manage the risks. An essential read for art world practitioners as well as scholars and students, Risk and Uncertainty in the Art World illustrates the dynamics and unique qualities of the art market as well as developing insights relevant to other sectors, including sociology, business and management, economics and finance. Editor: Anna Dempster, Sotheby's Institute of Art, London Contributors include: Tom Christopherson, Sotheby's Europe Anders Petterson, ArtTactic Olav Velthuis, University of Amsterdam Tom Flynn, Kingston University Hans J. Van Miegroet and Neil DeMarchi, Duke University Marina Bianchi, University of Cassino Rachel Pownall, University of Tilburg and University of Maastricht Elroy Dimson, London Business School Steve Satchell and Nandini Srivastava, Cambridge University Christophe Spaenjers, HEC Paris Laurent Noel, Audencia Nantes School of Management Arjo Klamer, Erasmus University
Background/preliminary research using reference sources is helpful for:
Reference sources:
Four ways to expand your research:
Helpful keywords and subjects to use when searching for information on art markets include:
Tip: search for market reports using keywords like art market and art & finance.
Art Law by
Between the countless works of art in the world and numerous laws on their care, the task of deciphering correct procedure can seem daunting. In Art Law: A Concise Guide for Artists, Curators, and Art Educators, Michael E. Jones breaks down the legal language into a concise tool for all those involved in the art world. While most art law books are written for law students or museum directors, trustees, and curators, Jones' book appeals to a far larger audience, particularly undergraduate and graduate students studying art, graphic design, photography, museum studies, art education and art business. It is also a useful research guide for museum professionals, gallery directors, foundation heads, working professional visual fine artists and board/trustee members. Art Law distinguishes itself by providing a broad scope of art law in relation to the world of artists and those organizations that support, preserve, govern, display, and even sell art. Covering topics such as acquisition, grants, and buying and selling, this book takes a look at the ethical and legal issues and rights that confront the art community and museums. Through case studies complete with images, readers can see these topics in action. Art Law is a must-have guide for art educators, museum studies students, art law and business programs, and artists looking for clear and readable descriptions and answers to the relevant legal issues facing the art world community.tion, grants, and buying and selling, this book takes a look at the ethical and legal issues and rights that confront the art community and museums. Through case studies complete with images, readers can see these topics in action. Art Law is a must-have guide for art educators, museum studies students, art law and business programs, and artists looking for clear and readable descriptions and answers to the relevant legal issues facing the art world community.tion, grants, and buying and selling, this book takes a look at the ethical and legal issues and rights that confront the art community and museums. Through case studies complete with images, readers can see these topics in action. Art Law is a must-have guide for art educators, museum studies students, art law and business programs, and artists looking for clear and readable descriptions and answers to the relevant legal issues facing the art world community.tion, grants, and buying and selling, this book takes a look at the ethical and legal issues and rights that confront the art community and museums. Through case studies complete with images, readers can see these topics in action. Art Law is a must-have guide for art educators, museum studies students, art law and business programs, and artists looking for clear and readable descriptions and answers to the relevant legal issues facing the art world community.
Collections and Deaccessioning in a Post-Pandemic World by
Towards a New Reality is about far more than the deaccessioning of museum and gallery collections. It's about how museums will be - must be - different after Covid-19. About a transformed environment, both social and financial, and museums' total response to it. In a changed and charged reality, deaccessioning is one element of a future in which issues of social justice, inequality, race, pay and decolonisation will impact collections as never before. It is part of a major new 950-page resource which draws on the experience and thinking of some of the world's most experienced and respected museum and gallery professionals, with a Foreword by Melody Kanschat and Antoniette M Guglielmo of the Museum Leadership Institute. The three volumes in the collection (available separately) are: Conversations with Museum Directors Towards a New Reality Case Studies Contents include: PARADIGM SHIFTS 1. Object Impermanence: Ethics, Endowments and Deaccessioning 2. Balancing the Needs of Today's Visitors Against Those of Future Generations 3. Optimizing Museum Asset Allocation 4. Understanding Disposal as an Ethical Crisis Response 5. Does the Museum Need a Single Wagon Wheel Without Provenance? TRUTHS AND BELIEFS 6. Deaccessioning and Disposal: A Registrar's Perspective 7. Bricks and Mortar Collections: Collecting, Assessing and Deaccessioning Buildings 8. The Illusory Public Trust in Art 9. Prioritizing the Public Domain in Deaccessioning 10. A Search for Direction: Finding Executive Leadership after a Deaccession Controversy A GOOD THING 11. Deaccessioning, Repatriation and a Global Reckoning 12. Restitution, Social Justice and the Benin Bronzes 13. Museums in the Time of Covid and BLM: Proactive Repatriation 14. Reframing Disposals: Building Confidence in Transfers and Removals 15. The Collection Ranking Project at Indianapolis Museum of Art at Newfields 16. Repurposing: A Positive Result of Deaccessioning BEYOND DEACCESSIONING 17. The Other End of the Telescope: Deaccessioning as a Public Good 18. Collateralization: Financial Stability Without Deaccessioning 19. Art Investment Collections: Considerations for Museums 20. When Deaccessioning Isn't Enough: Closing the Museum PERSPECTIVES 21. It's Not About Selling Art, It's About How You Use The Money 22. The Case Against Deaccessioning Art to Support Operating and Capital Budgets 23. Progressive Deaccessioning 24. Where It Happens: The Perspective of a Museum Trustee 25. Three Theses on Deaccessioning and Survival 26. Deaccessioning and Protections for Objects and People: The Fair Museum Jobs Stance
Creative Legacies by
Creative Legacies provides a nuanced investigation of specific topics relevant to artists' legacies. The book includes carefully selected perspectives from many of the world's foremost thought-leaders and practitioners in this field. Readers will come away from the book with a greater awareness of the complex issues central to working with creative individuals and how these and the scholarly dialogues pertaining to them affect the legacies in the present as well as in perpetuity. Unlike a 'how-to' guide or an instruction manual, Creative Legacies illustrates that there is no singular or standard approach when working with artists; it highlights a spectrum of issues and considerations essential to understanding how a creative legacy is perceived and maintained economically, curatorially and critically. Includes contributions by Kathy Battista, Alexandra Bowes-Lyon, Bryan Faller, Nathalie Khan, Christine Kuan, Lisa Le Feuvre, Christy MacLear, Daniel McClean, Tom McNulty, Mark Morris, Judith B. Prowda, Ann-Marie Richard, Christine J. Vincent, Eric M. Wolf, Robin Wright and Loretta Würtenberger.
Practicing Decoloniality in Museums by
The cry for decolonization has echoed throughout the museum world. Although perhaps most audibly heard in the case of ethnographic museums, many different types of museums have felt the need to engage in decolonial practices. Amidst those who have argued that an institution as deeply colonial as the museum cannot truly be decolonized, museum staff and museologists have been approaching the issue from different angles to practice decoloniality in any way they can. This book collects a wide range of practices from museums whose audiences, often highly diverse, come together in sometimes contentious conversations about pasts and futures. Although there are no easy or uniform answers as to how best to deal with colonial pasts, this collection of practices functions as an accessible toolkit from which museum staff can choose in order to experiment with and implement methods according to their own needs and situations. The practices are divided thematically and include, among others, methods for decentering, improving transparency, and increasing inclusivity.
Rights and Reproductions by
Management and dissemination of the Intellectual Property (IP) assets maintained by cultural institutions is a key responsibility of caring for collections. Rights and reproductions methodologies are seemingly ever-changing with new technologies, additional distribution avenues, evolving case law, applicable court decisions, and new legislation. This new edition of Rights & Reproductions: The Handbook for Cultural Institutions marks the first time this valuable publication is available in print as well as digital. Building upon the guidelines, standards, and best practices outlined in the first edition, the Handbook further investigates current trends in rights and reproductions practices, notably expanding the discussion of fair use guidelines and codes, Creative Commons and RightsStatements.org, open access, social media applications, and the overall process of conducting rights clearances and obtaining permissions for the growing list of possible uses of a cultural institution's IP. Highlights of the second edition include: -A new chapter devoted to fair use and open access -Overall updates to applicable case law, rights clearance practices, and distribution partners -Over 20 case studies outlining real-world examples from the authors' experiences and practices at their institutions -Expanded glossary defining terms so they are easy to understand -Updated appendices with new references, resources, and court decisions -Over 50 contract and document templates provided by the authors' institutions The Handbook is the must-have, comprehensive resource for cultural institution professionals handling rights-related work, including registrars, rights and reproductions managers, archivists, librarians, and lawyers.
Background/preliminary research using reference sources is helpful for:
Reference sources:
Tip: Search for entries using keywords like art legislation, deaccessioning art, or patrimony.
Four ways to expand your research:
Helpful keywords and subjects to use when searching for information on art collections, administration. and management: