- UNIVERSITY HOME
- LIBRARY, COLLECTIONS, & ACADEMIC SERVICES »
Basics Interior Architecture 05: Texture + Materials by
Basics Interior Architecture 05: Texture + Materials forms an inspiring introduction to many of the materials currently used in the design of interior spaces.The book explores the choice and use of materials and evaluates the effects of these choices on a space, discussing topics such as light, termperature, acoustics and general atmosphere.Each chapter assesses a single material, with its inherent flaws and individual qualities, and places it in its historical, geographical and cultural context. Readers are encouraged to consider the sustainability of each material and its future use, and text is accompanied by both historical and contemporary case studies.
Interior Design Materials and Specifications by
This complete guide to the selection of materials for interiors has been updated to reflect the most recent materials on the market and contemporary awareness on industry movements like sustainability. Written from the viewpoint of the working designer, Interior Design Materials and Specifications, 4th Edition, describes each material's characteristics and teaches students how to evaluate, select, and specify materials, taking into account factors including code compliance, building standards, sustainability guidelines, human needs, and bidding processes. Students will learn how to communicate with suppliers and vendors to achieve the results they envision and how to avoid some of the pitfalls common to material selection and specification. New to this Edition: -Removed laminated materials chapter and dispersing information into related materials chapters. -Inclusion of a Smart Materials chapter and sustainability information throughout. -Updated all case studies throughout text. STUDIO Features: -Self-Assessment Quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips. -Review key concepts with Flashcards of essential vocabulary. -Watch Videos to tour materials plants. Instructor Resources: -PowerPoint Slides for each chapter. -Instructor's Guide with sample course outlines for teaching and tools for integrating the STUDIO with the course.
Interior Surfaces and Materials by
Architecture is defined by its materials and surfaces. Not infrequently, it is their look and feel that determine whether a project succeeds or fails. For this reason, it is crucially important that planners choose the right materials and use them correctly, a task that is especially challenging today, when they are confronted with an almost dizzying variety of design possibilities and almost unlimited industrial production techniques. In Detail: Materials for Interiors provides detailed and specific information on the use of appropriate materials in interior design. The book leads off with an overview of the range of available products for interior design, including large-format photographs of each material and interiors that use them. This is followed by detailed discussions of relevant aspects and production methods of the individual material groups, including selected examples. The processing of the materials is illustrated by production photographs from the construction site and numerous detail drawings. In the accompanying texts, expert planners who specialize in the various materials share their practical knowledge of how to use them. The technical articles and example projects focus on the surface of the material and how it is produced or comes to be and contain corresponding decision support for planners. Additional technical information on the materials used and a list of manufacturer and vendor addresses round out the volume. Werkstoffe und Oberflächen prägen die Architektur. Nicht selten entscheiden deren Optik und Haptik über Erfolg oder Misserfolg eines Projektes. Umso mehr stellt die richtige Auswahl und Verwendung von Materialien für den Planer eine besondere Herausforderung dar, der heutzutage - besonders im Innenausbau - einer nahezu unübersichtlichen Vielfalt an Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten und nahezu uneingeschränkten industriellen Fertigungstechniken gegenübersteht. ,,Im Detail: Material im Innenraum" liefert gezielte und detaillierte Informationen zum Einsatz geeigneter Materialien im Innenausbau. Den Auftakt des Buches bildet ein Überblick über die Produktpalette beim Innenausbau mit einem großformatigen Fotos des jeweiligen Materials und eines damit ausgestatteten Innenraums. Planungsrelevante Aspekte und Fertigungsmethoden der einzelnen Materialgruppen werden dann anhand ausgewählter Beispiele detailliert erläutert. Die Verarbeitung der Werkstoffe wird durch Fertigungsfotos von der Baustelle und mit zahlreichen Detailzeichnungen veranschaulicht. Die Begleittexte vermitteln das Praxiswissen von den jeweiligen Fachplanern zum Einsatz der Werkstoffe. Der Schwerpunkt der Fachartikel und der Projektbeispiele liegt dabei auf der Materialoberfläche, deren Entstehungs- bzw. Herstellungsprozess und birgt entsprechende Entscheidungshilfen für die Planung. Zusätzliche technische Infos zu den verwendeten Materialien sowie Hersteller/Bezugsadressen runden das Buch ab.
Materials and Interior Design by
The choice of materials is critical to the success of an interior. This book examines every aspect of the the use of materials in interior design, from initial concept and selection to visual representation and practical application. The book includes useful step-by-step sequences, information on properties and sustainability, and a list of resources, online archives, and samplelibraries. It is an invaluable practical and inspirational guide for interior design students.
Materials for Interior Environments by
Organized by types of materials and applications, this guide helps designers successfully address material evaluation and selection of interior components. Engagingly written, highly detailed, and helpfully illustrated with more than 550 color illustrations, Materials for Interior Environments is a comprehensive guide to everything a designer needs to know about the materials available for interiors--from aesthetic qualities to manufacturing and fabrication, applications, installation and maintenance, and specifications for materials used in commercial and residential applications.
Also, check out the architectural materials book list!
Environmentally Responsible Design by
Environmentally Responsible Design Architecture/Interior Design/General Learn the principles and practice of sustainable interior design Covering everything from theory to current practices, eight leading design educators present the tools and knowledge needed to implement an environmentally responsible approach for any interior design project. It opens with a broad perspective on global sustainability followed by a timeline of human and environmental interactions. This sets the stage for the book's coverage of the day-to-day issues of environmentally responsible interior design, including: Indoor air quality Environmentally responsible lighting design Energy and water issues Evaluation and specification of interior finishes and furnishings United States Green Building Council and LEED certification The author sets forth and examines a variety of essential design standards and philosophies, including LEED-CI, William McDonough's "Cradle to Cradle," Minnesota Sustainable Design Guide, and Energy Star®. The final part of the book is dedicated to two in-depth case studies that demonstrate how the principles and practices discussed in the book have been successfully put into action. Throughout the presentation, detailed illustrations enable you to better understand how environmentally responsible design works. A bibliography at the end of the book leads you to additional resources. Armed with this book as a reference, students and professional interior designers will make sound design decisions that incorporate the principles of sustainability with aesthetics and functional requirements.
Material Revolution by
Since it is now clear that in the future many raw materials will only be available to us in limited quantities, scientists have for some time been conducting intensive research into possible alternatives. Sustainability is the order of the day and the magic word for a better future in politics and industry. Moreover, environmental consciousness and a penchant for thinking in terms of material cycles have caught on with consumers: the use of environmentally compatible materials and production methods is desired, even taken for granted by the client. Designers and architects thus have a special role and responsibility. For they are the ones who decide what materials will be used on their projects and thus wield enormous influence on the sustainability of our product world. At the same time, we are dealing with a flood of new materials, which calls for specialized knowledge of their properties, their possible use, and their handling. Material Revolution bridges the gap between research and industry on the one hand and designers and architects on the other by offering a systematic overview of the currently available sustainable materials and providing the reader with all the information he or she needs to assess a new material's suitability and potential for a given project. Along the way, it examines natural and biodegradable materials, while also presenting materials with multifunctional properties and the potential for diminishing energy requirements.
Sustainable Commercial Interiors by
Discover new approaches to green design and sustainable building with this comprehensive guide There's a substantial amount of information designers and architects need to understand about sustainability and commercial projects, especially as expectations for professionals in the industry become clearer. Luckily, the second edition of Sustainable Commercial Interiors has been revamped to serve as a comprehensive guide for anyone looking to understand the latest in green and sustainable design. Fully revised throughout, this resource now includes frameworks based on the new LEED v4 rating system, and provides fifteen brand-new case studies that document green design and building strategies for all types of projects. You'll find information on materials, furnishings, finishes, product standards, and certifications, all designed to keep you in the know and prepare you for future ventures in sustainable design. The ideal professional companion for interior designers, commercial builders and developers, architects, and interior design students, this guide is an all-in-one introduction to the most essential topics in the industry, such as global environmental issues, water and energy usage, and the tools of the trade, to name just a few. The book is illustrated with full color images throughout. Fully revised and updated to include information on the new LEED v4 rating system Discusses the past, present, and future of sustainable design Considers global environmental issues, such as waste, land use, and bio-inspired design Covers water and energy usage and sustainable materials Discover the benefits of green building and adopt new approaches to sustainable design. Sustainable Commercial Interiors is your go-to resource for navigating new expectations for responsible interior design.
Sustainable Design by
Written for students and practitioners in the fields of architecture and interior design, our new Architecture Brief Sustainable Design provides a concise overview of all the techniques available for reducing the energy footprint of structures and spaces. With clear, simple language and a practical "can do" approach, author David Bergman covers everything from the profession's ethical responsibility, to design structures and spaces that sustain our natural resources, to specific considerations such as rainwater harvesting, graywater recycling, passive heating techniques, solar orientation, green roofs, wind energy, daylighting, indoor air quality, material evaluation and specification, and how to work with green building certification programs.
The Sustainable Design Book by
The Sustainable Design Book updates the reader on the latest products and developments in the field of "green" design. Around 300 of the most exciting new products are featured. Q&As with leading designers give insight into trends and key techniques used within the industry, while handy icons highlight each product's sustainability credentials at a glance. Beginning with a chapter on sustainable materials, the book goes on to cover furniture, lighting, home accessories, and personal accessories, giving readers a broad and current understanding of sustainable design from raw elements through to finished products. Web addresses of designers and retailers make each product easy to source. This combination of products, profiles and information will make The Sustainable Design Book an unbeatable resource for those aspiring to best practice within the field of sustainable design, as well as students of contemporary product design. Consumers looking for beautiful but environmentally conscious products and accessories will also find this an essential guide.
Sustainable Residential Interiors by
The Second Edition of Sustainable Residential Interiors addresses cutting edge processes, strategies, and principles as well as details for in-depth product vetting criteria. Award-winning, leading interior designer Annette Stelmack shares her expertise from the perspective of LEED Building Design & Construction projects, healthy interiors, and chemical sensitivities, addressing principles, strategies, and solutions for design practitioners. A comprehensive update of the current state of the sustainable interior design industry is provided, including present and upcoming industry transformations, thought-leading principles, strategies and practices for project implementation, and fine points and resources for in-depth product vetting to support high-performing, healthy interiors. Sustainable Residential Interiors takes readers through an integrated design process, demonstrating relevant principles and practices that apply to essentially any interiors project toward creating an environment that is healthy, high-performing, functional, sustainable, and beautiful. In doing so, it: Promotes critical thinking about health and environmental issues in the building industry Features checklists and current resources, providing a "hands on" practical approach Addresses in-depth, applicable third party certifications and details on relevant building rating systems Provides in-depth strategies and criteria for fixed interior finishes, fixtures, equipment and furnishings Demonstrates successful, relevant, diverse and inspiring case studies Delivers comprehensive tools and resources for researching and vetting products' composition and chemical make-up. Evaluates all aspects of a building's interior to identify and implement methods that: save energy and water; reduce Co2 emissions and waste; improve indoor air quality free of toxins; and are responsive to environmental impacts Encourages forward-thinking by featuring inspirational statements from mentors, peers, and industry leaders Urges interior designers to commit to designing safe, healthy environments that are integral to a professional code of ethics, which ensure the delivery of positive outcomes for the client and any building's future occupants
Textile Technology and Design by
Textile Technology and Design addresses the critical role of the interior at the intersection of design and technology, with a range of interdisciplinary arguments by a wide range of contributors: from design practitioners to researchers and scholars to aerospace engineers. Chapters examine the way in which textiles and technology - while seemingly distinct - continually inform each other through their persistent overlapping of interests, and eventually coalesce in the practice of interior design. Covering all kinds of interiors from domestic (prefabricated kitchens and 3D wallpaper) to extreme (underwater habitats and space stations), it features a variety of critical aspects including pattern and ornament, domestic technologies, craft and the imperfect, gender issues, sound and smart textiles. This book is essential reading for students of textile technology, textile design and interior design.
Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors by
"I adopt this text due to the strong applications within the fields of Interior Design and Architecture. It shows practical knowledge that students need upon graduation. It should be kept as reference for all new graduates." Victoria Runge, University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, USA Learn how to select textiles for every type of residential and commercial interior. The book has the most current fiber and fabric information about household and institutional textiles, and commercial and residential textiles for upholstered furniture, windows, walls, and floorcoverings. More than 500 color line drawings and photographs illustrate fibers, yarns, fabrics, manufacturing equipment, coloring, finishings, and end products. Textiles for Residential and Commercial Interiors STUDIO-an online study tool! ¿ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ¿ Review vocabulary with flashcards PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501326660.
Use these databases to find information about the future of design materials.
Search design databases to see how materials are being discussed in art and design magazines and journals.
Search the library catalog for a book on the material. Books are nice because they are comprehensive and they combine images and text. You can perform an advanced search, searching in the Subject field, with Material Type-->Books.
You can also combine the material with additional keywords, such as "interior design" OR "interior architecture" + tiles.
You can also search the full text of our eBook databases:
Use these databases to find encyclopedia entries on your material. Further readings can be located by searching the library catalog.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window